The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Account Suspended (website)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by whipworks, Dec 1, 2014.

  1. whipworks

    whipworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The site shows the suspension page "This Account Has Been Suspended", even if the account is not suspended. I've tried suspending the account and taking the suspension of again and see if that changes anything, but no good. I also did a search on the forums about this, and was a bit surprised that the inquiries to this problem hasn't been addressed :confused:

    Any ideas? Thanks! :)
     
  2. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Your probably viewing a cached version of the suspended page. Try clearing your cache or viewing the page on another browser.
     
  3. whipworks

    whipworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I viewed the page on 3 different computers. Same results. Cleared cache as well.
     
    #3 whipworks, Dec 1, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2014
  4. Serra

    Serra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Site can be cached, even if that cache isn't local. Could be an ISP cache or a network cache of some sort. Try a phone using the cell tower and not the local network or try using a VPN to check.
     
  5. whipworks

    whipworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Tried on mobile phones. Showed suspended as well.
     
  6. acenetgeorge

    acenetgeorge Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Southfield, MI
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Suspend the account once more, and then unsuspend it again. It is possible the suspend redirect did not get removed correctly. I've seen this happen more than once, but it is not very common.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Do you notice any error messages in /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log when suspending the account? Is the account's .htaccess file modified when the account is suspended?

    Thank you.
     
  8. whipworks

    whipworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Account Suspension
    Changing Shell to /bin/false...Changing shell for username.
    Warning: "/bin/false" is not listed in /etc/shells
    Shell changed.
    Done
    Locking Password...Locking password for user username.
    passwd: Success
    Done
    1Suspending email account logins for domainname .... Done
    Suspending mysql users
    Using Universal Quota Support (quota=0)
    Suspending websites...
    Using Universal Quota Support (quota=2252800)
    Suspending FTP accounts...
    Updating FTP passwords for username
    FTP password files updated.
    FTP vhost passwords synced
    username's account has been suspended

    Account Activated
    Changing shell for username.
    Shell changed.
    Unlocking password for user username.
    passwd: Success.
    Unsuspending email account logins for domainname .... Done
    Unsuspending websites...
    Unsuspending FTP accounts...
    Updating FTP passwords for username
    FTP password files updated.
    FTP vhost passwords synced
    username's account is now active
    Unsuspending mysql users

    This is I think the third time I've done this. I don't see anything wrong.
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  10. whipworks

    whipworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Odd enough, I don't see those files on the File Manager on WHM for me to check.
     
  11. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Please open a support ticket using the link in my signature. I'd very much like to look at this for you. Please post the ticket number here once you've opened it so we can update this thread accordingly.
     
  12. whipworks

    whipworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ticket created. Access granted. Thanks! :)
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  14. whipworks

    whipworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Oh sorry about that. But the issue was resolve. It was something on the Apache server that didn't start properly. Thank you.

    One other question though, the support guys are suggesting upgrading our CPanel apps and/or security. Is there a way that you guys (or they) can do that on our server remotely? This is a concern of saving time for us. Or is there anyone we can talk about this of forum?
     
  15. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you elaborate on what type of update you are referring to?

    Thank you.
     
  16. whipworks

    whipworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Bash, RHEL/CentOS, and OpenSSL.
     
  17. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, it's a good idea to use updated versions of your OS and it's packages. Depending on the existing versions installed, you can typically do this via the "yum update" command. I suggest consulting with a qualified system administrator if you are not comfortable doing this on your own.

    Thank you.
     
  18. OatmealDesign

    OatmealDesign Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hi folks,

    I had the same issue today, thought I would post just in case it is a quick fix for someone else. I unsuspended the account, then suspended it, but the main thing is that I added some text in the "Reason (if suspending):" field. When I unsuspended, I also made sure to add text to the "Reason (if suspending):" field, and voila - I was back in business.

    I tried all other combinations and it just didn't work - so there may be a work around for you gents as well.

    Good luck,

    Me.
     
  19. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've not been able to reproduce this issue. What version of cPanel is installed on your system, and what exact steps can we take to reproduce the issue that required you to add a reason?

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page