The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Account switcher in cPanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by liam1412, Oct 15, 2011.

  1. liam1412

    liam1412 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Hope someone can help I have a reseller who can switch from whm to his child accounts in cpanel, but the main account is not available for him to switch back to in the drop down account switcher on cpanel. Is there a setting to enable this if he has the permissions to access whm?

    Thanks
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    WHM > Server Configuration > Tweak Settings, System tab. First option listed there is what you seek I believe. ;)
     
  3. liam1412

    liam1412 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Thanks for the reply,

    That actually relates to the owner been able to access the cpanel account which he can do. But when logged in as his root account he can't switch back from cpanel to the main whm account. In the switch account drop down there isn't an option to do so.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hmm, sorry for the misunderstanding. There is no option on that Switch Account drop down list to go to WHM. In cPanel there is an icon in the Advanced Box (normal settings, it would be at bottom of page) titled WHM that you use to jump over to WHM from within cPanel.

    Switch Accounts is for jumping to other cPanel accounts only.
     
  5. liam1412

    liam1412 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks again for the quick replies

    BUT......

    I completely misunderstood his issue anyway.

    Basically, he can use the account switcher to switch from the cpanel of his main account to his child accounts, but he can't switch back again. There is no drop down available for his main account.
     
  6. liam1412

    liam1412 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have figured out that is because he doesn't own his main account. Are there any risks associated with him owning it?
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  8. liam1412

    liam1412 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks infopro

    I just created a test reseller and made it own itself, and im happy with the privelages.

    Thanks for all the help.
     
Loading...

Share This Page