The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Account Transfer Questions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by haze, Mar 27, 2002.

  1. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ok, im looking at moving about 200+ clients to a new Cpanel server and this account move feature is going to come in very handy! Just a few questions:

    1. Will our resellers still be resellers? do we need to set up each account as a reseller and change ownship to the reseller and whatnot?

    2. Is there anything we need to do manually at all?

    3. Is there anything else I should know?
     
  2. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ok, mySQL users don't seem to go with the account, I just did a test on a dumby site. Is there any way to trasfer this information?
     
  3. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ok, Nick says that the script should be taking the user with it, but its not and he said he would look into it for me. For the time being, is there anyway I can do this manually?
     
  4. kosmo

    kosmo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    All over Europe
    [quote:5c63670eab][i:5c63670eab]Originally posted by iminteractive[/i:5c63670eab]

    Ok, im looking at moving about 200+ clients to a new Cpanel server and this account move feature is going to come in very handy! Just a few questions:

    1. Will our resellers still be resellers? do we need to set up each account as a reseller and change ownship to the reseller and whatnot?

    2. Is there anything we need to do manually at all?

    3. Is there anything else I should know?[/quote:5c63670eab]

    1. You can transfer only as root. Resold accounts must be assigned to the reseller after the move.

    3. If you have subdomains as independent account, first move the subdomains and then the main domain. Moving first the main domain will result to all subdomains assigned as owned by the main domain instead of being independent.

    4. Be patient. I have timeouts in about 40% of the moves.

    kosmo
     
  5. Daniel

    Daniel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If you move an account with more than one subdomain you will have to fix the zone file. It will append another zone to the bottom for each subdomain. So if you have 5 subdomains you end up with a zone file with 5 copies of the zone file one after the other. That and the MySQL users are not copied are the only 2 problems I've had with it.
     
  6. kosmo

    kosmo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    All over Europe
    Yes, the Zone files are messed up. All subdomains are added (even the independent ones) will be added in the master domain's zone files. Additionally, all domains get two zone files: domain.ext and www.domain.ext.

    kosmo
     
Loading...

Share This Page