Account transfer when to turn off source account

jonh

Well-Known Member
Feb 15, 2016
86
5
8
NY
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
If I transfer an account from one server to another, when should I delete the account from the source server? Both source servers use the same DNS cluster server. I read if both are syncing DNS records for he same account it could become corrupt. So when should I delete the source account so this doesn't happen, but the site is still live while the name server propagates?
 

cPanelLauren

Product Owner
Staff member
Nov 14, 2017
13,296
1,261
313
Houston
If I transfer an account from one server to another, when should I delete the account from the source server? Both source servers use the same DNS cluster server. I read if both are syncing DNS records for he same account it could become corrupt. So when should I delete the source account so this doesn't happen, but the site is still live while the name server propagates?
I would suggest removing the source account once the domain has propagated and you've ensured that everything is functioning normally. There's no set time limit though as long as DNS is pointed to the new server you shouldn't experience any conflicts.