The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Account without a domain?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by internetido, Nov 6, 2013.

  1. internetido

    internetido Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hi all,
    Is it possible to open an account for a customer without a domain?
    i.e. he has a domain registered with another registrar - I wish to build a Wordpress site and then change Nameserver at the registrar, is this possible to do?

    Thanks
    internetido
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Yes, you can create an account with a domain name that has not yet been pointed to your server. It's fine if the name servers have not yet been changed, but obviously the website will not load the uploaded content until that happens.

    Thank you.
     
  3. PlotHost

    PlotHost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Sometimes you may need to change the installation directory in the WordPress settings after the transfer.
    First time the url is something like server.com/~account ; the final url will be domain.com .
     
  4. ravi9

    ravi9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    You need an active url to build a working wordpress website. So, you can do this by two method.

    Method One:
    1) Create an account on any working sub-domain name. Like say domain.com is working on your server. So, create a new account on any sub-domain like dev.domain.com

    2) Now start building your Wordpress website on dev.domain.com

    3) Once your website is ready, change domain name of this account from WHM.

    4) Change domain name in WordPress database from Phpmyadmin
    Changing The Site URL « WordPress Codex

    5) Update nameserver of your domain name from domain control panel at your registrar.


    Method 2
    This is most preferred method.
    1) Install any local server like wampserver / xampp on your computer. Simple installation, will take hardly 5-10 minutes.

    2) Install Wordpress on your computer.

    3) Develop your wordpress website on your local server.

    4) When website is ready, create an account on your server.

    5) Change nameserver of your domain name.

    6) Transfer website from local computer to server using Wordpress export / import feature.

    Done!!!
     
    #4 ravi9, Nov 7, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2013
  5. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Or you can do so that you create the account using the actual domain, and the park a working subdomain over it. You can use that subdomain when you create the site.
     
Loading...

Share This Page