The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

accounts not included in backups

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by jimlongo, Nov 4, 2013.

  1. jimlongo

    jimlongo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi, i've been using the new backup system.

    Today I discovered that the accounts are not being backed up.

    Code:
    root@vps [/backup]# ls -la
    total 32
    drwx--x--x  8 root root 4096 Nov  3 02:07 ./
    drwxr-xr-x 24 root root 4096 Oct 30 01:44 ../
    drwx--x--x  4 root root 4096 Oct  6 02:00 2013-10-06/
    drwx--x--x  4 root root 4096 Oct 13 02:00 2013-10-13/
    drwx--x--x  4 root root 4096 Oct 20 02:00 2013-10-20/
    drwx--x--x  4 root root 4096 Oct 27 02:00 2013-10-27/
    drwx--x--x  4 root root 4096 Nov  3 02:00 2013-11-03/
    drwx--x--x  4 root root 4096 Jan 21  2013 cpbackup/
    /backups/cpbackup/weekly and /backups/cpbackup/monthly both contain backups of everything from June which I surmise is when I switched over the new backup system.

    however the newer backups such as /backup/2013-11-03 contain the following
    Code:
    root@vps [/backup]# ls -la 2013-11-03/
    total 16
    drwx--x--x 4 root root 4096 Nov  3 02:00 ./
    drwx--x--x 8 root root 4096 Nov  3 02:07 ../
    drwx--x--x 2 root root 4096 Nov  3 02:07 accounts/
    drwx--x--x 4 root root 4096 Nov  3 02:00 system/
    /backups/2013-11-03/accounts is empty

    /backups/2013-11-03/system is populated with /dirs and /files but neither of them contains the account files.
     
  2. jimlongo

    jimlongo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Wait a minute. I just reviewed the settings in WHM>Backup.

    I'd never checked the "Select Users" button. I see all accounts were set to Legacy ON - Backups OFF.
    Is that the problem?

    If so that's very misleading, I would think that choosing Backup Enable would enable them all unless you specifically wanted it otherwise.
     
  3. ravi9

    ravi9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Make sure you have checked Backup Accounts in WHM Main >> Backup >> Backup Configuration

    And in Select users page, you have enabled backups for all users.

    - - - Updated - - -

    After saving configuration run following command in SSH to run backup

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup --force
    
    After backup is completed you can see log in
    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup
    
     
  4. jimlongo

    jimlongo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks for that answer.
    I ran the backup and it all got backed up now.

    I must say that the WHM interface is not very straightforward in this instance.
    I mean why would one have selected the new backup system, but have the users on legacy.

    I suppose you could be using both, but at least a note or warning would help here.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The new backup system (/usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup) behaves differently than the previous one (/scripts/cpbackup) due to the availability of two backup systems. The new backup system does not backup any accounts by default. Instead, administrators have to explicitly enable accounts for backup. This is to avoid cases where both backup systems are enabled at the same time.

    Thank you.
     
  6. drp

    drp Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I found this helpful, but agree there should be a notice about this within the Backups > Backup Configuration screen to make things clearer.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to open a feature request for this via:

    Submit A Feature Request

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page