The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Accounts Over Quota

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by popeye, Dec 18, 2013.

  1. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi anyone know why when accounts go over there bandwidth they get suspended, but when they go over space limit nothing happens ?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The nature of disk space quotas ensures that accounts can not use more than their assigned quota. Thus, if an account reaches it's quota limit, additional files can not create, and services such as email may fail. You can browse to the "Notifications" tab in "WHM Home » Server Configuration » Tweak Settings" to ensure email notices are sent out when an account reaches it's disk space quota.

    Thank you.
     
  3. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi i have one customer who as gone over by 2 gig and everything still works fine ?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Filesystem blocks quota limit grace files quota limit grace
    /dev/simfs 4412504* 2048000 2048000 none 4318 0 0
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is it possible the quota of that account was modified after the usage, or that the usage occurred at a time when the quota was not enforced? Is the user able to upload new files to the account?

    Thank you.
     
  7. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi yes they can do anything ? its an account i moved from another server then i noticed it was over quota, but this happens on all my servers.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The account should receive an error message when uploading new files if quotas are active on the server and the account is at it's limit. Please open a support ticket for this issue using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page