The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Activating the Configuration Storage in phpmyadmin?

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by Kelemvor, Feb 22, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Kelemvor

    Kelemvor Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Howdy,

    My host has the version of phpmyadmin installed that is bundled with cpanel. When I log in right now, it tells me I'm at cPanel version 62.0.15 and phpmyadmin Version: 4.0.10.18.

    Anyway, when I go into phpmyadmin I get a warning that settings will only be stored for my current session and I can't Bookmark any queries until I set phpmyadmin configuration storage.

    I asked my host for help and he said that I'd have to install the full version of phpmyadmin on my own as the cpanel version may not support this and the if he installs a new version of cpanel, it would override these settings anyway.

    I'm just trying to figure out if that information is correct or not (I'm hoping it's not) and if there is any help to get the Configuration Storage setup properly.

    Thanks for any help!
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Yes, your hosting provider is correct. You would need to install your own instance of phpMyAdmin on the account if you wanted to preserve settings through sessions. I encourage you to vote and add feedback to the following feature request if you'd like to see a change in how this works:

    phpMyAdmin configuration storage

    Thank you.
     
    Kelemvor likes this.
  3. Kelemvor

    Kelemvor Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Well crap. So now I have to go figure out how to install phpmyadmin manually and then configure that table. This should be fun.

    I did vote up the feature but see it's 3 years old so I won't hold my breath. :(
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,618
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you do install it, please be sure to password protect the directory. Obvious I know, but mentioning all the same. ;)
     
  6. Kelemvor

    Kelemvor Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I was able to install phpmyadmin through the Softilicious (or whatever it is) installer thing which worked fine. When I went to the URL it prompted me to log in. Do I need to secure the folder manually? If so, any instructions on how I might do that?
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,618
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
Loading...

Share This Page