Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

add-on domain, skip subdomain?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ozzieonline, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. ozzieonline

    ozzieonline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    All the sites I use on my VPS will be add-on domains. The sites need to work like this:

    www.myaddondomain.com

    ...but not like this:

    myaddondomain.mymainsite.com

    I can get this problem solved myself. However, I found out that when I want to create an e-mail account for an add-on domain in cPanel I can choose from @myaddondomain.com and myaddondomain.mymainaccount.com. I only want to be able to create @myaddondomain.com mail addresses and find it confusing if I can choose from @myaddondomain.com and myaddondomain.mymainaccount.com. It's easy to make a mistake.

    Is there a way to disable the creation of subdomains when creating an add-on domain... or is that impossible?
     
  2. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Because of how add-on domains work in cPanel it is impossible to get rid of those subdomains.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. ozzieonline

    ozzieonline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I was already afraid of that... too bad :(
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,571
    Likes Received:
    439
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    WHM » Server Configuration » Tweak Settings, Domains tab:

    Enabling that might be helpful to you. But this wouldn't change the listings seen when creating an email account I don't think. Give it a go and post back.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. ozzieonline

    ozzieonline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, but unfortunately it didn't help. Subdomains are still being created (as well as the double listings in email accounts).
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice