The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

add-on domain, skip subdomain?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ozzieonline, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. ozzieonline

    ozzieonline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    All the sites I use on my VPS will be add-on domains. The sites need to work like this:

    www.myaddondomain.com

    ...but not like this:

    myaddondomain.mymainsite.com

    I can get this problem solved myself. However, I found out that when I want to create an e-mail account for an add-on domain in cPanel I can choose from @myaddondomain.com and myaddondomain.mymainaccount.com. I only want to be able to create @myaddondomain.com mail addresses and find it confusing if I can choose from @myaddondomain.com and myaddondomain.mymainaccount.com. It's easy to make a mistake.

    Is there a way to disable the creation of subdomains when creating an add-on domain... or is that impossible?
     
  2. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Because of how add-on domains work in cPanel it is impossible to get rid of those subdomains.
     
  3. ozzieonline

    ozzieonline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I was already afraid of that... too bad :(
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,472
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    WHM » Server Configuration » Tweak Settings, Domains tab:

    Enabling that might be helpful to you. But this wouldn't change the listings seen when creating an email account I don't think. Give it a go and post back.
     
  5. ozzieonline

    ozzieonline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, but unfortunately it didn't help. Subdomains are still being created (as well as the double listings in email accounts).
     
Loading...

Share This Page