The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Add-on Domains create MX delivery record in localdomains

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by rohroh1974, Jul 5, 2016.

Tags:
  1. rohroh1974

    rohroh1974 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We are seeing an issue where upon adding an add-on or alias domain into an account it defaults the Mail Delivery to be a local domain even if the main account is configured to be a remote domain. It appears that the Auto Configuration option isn't being applied to the add-on domains.

    We also are seeing that when moving accounts between servers randomly the local/remote setting is being changed.

    It would be awesome to have the ability to default all main on the servers to be external mail as we do not run any email services on our cPanel servers - they are all run externally.
     
  2. webhostuk

    webhostuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    You will have to suggest this in feature request section as by default I dont feel Cpanel offers this feature to allow external mail server while adding addon domains.
     
  3. rohroh1974

    rohroh1974 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We have been doing some more testing and have found that randomly a Primary domain that has its mail configured as Remote will be switched to a Local domain if you add or modify any add-on domains or add a subdomain. We are in the process of upgrading a lot of our older Centos boxes to Cloudlinux 7 and as part of the process we cpMove the site across - add "test.domainname" as a subdomain on the primary account. This is then removed once we go to live with the site. Sometimes if we think to check it we find that the parent domain has been changed to a local domain - not always but sometimes.

    If someone else could do a few tests if they have a similar environment so as to prove that there is a bug or glitch that occurs that would be great. It is rather random so hard for us to prove it too.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,765
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I've been unable to reproduce this issue. Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page