The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

add on icons in cpanel (client login)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by chadi, Apr 28, 2004.

  1. chadi

    chadi BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I want to add some affiliate links, icons such as Kanoodle, Enhance, etc. in cPanel. How can I do this?
     
  2. fwwebs

    fwwebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can edit the index.html file for the theme your using. It's located at /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/[theme]/index.html . The icons are located in the mainicons directory.
     
  3. chadi

    chadi BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how do i get this via ftp? Also, if only done via ssh, how do I actually download it to my drive?
     
  4. fwwebs

    fwwebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Maybe someone else will have a better solution, but I copy the files to a dummy account that I use to test and admin Fantastico. Once there I download them via FTP, modify them, upload them to my dummy account, and finally copy them back to their original location.
     
  5. chadi

    chadi BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I want to add some affiliate links, icons such as Kanoodle, Enhance, etc. in cPanel. How can I do this?
     
  6. chadi

    chadi BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok i figured out how to get it, upload and all...but

    weird thing...all i did was add one icon for kanoodle and the text...uploaded, overwrote older copy and yet kanoodle doesn't show up?

    also, i noticed in frontpage when i edit there are a couple extra icons not viewable in cpanel login..how come? what am i doing wrong?
     
  7. fwwebs

    fwwebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When you look at the code, some of the img tags are not hard coded. You need to edit the source rather than using FrontPage graphical.
     
  8. chadi

    chadi BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    to be honest i have no idea what you mean...i understand you mean edit in text editor but i'm not exactly 100% knowledgeable via text editors..

    please explain to me what code i need to insert for the new cell (to add the new icon)

    here is the bottom part of the file as a sample if you can help

    Code:
     <cpanelfeature nettools>
              <td width="75" nowrap><a href="net/index.html"><img border="0" src="mainicons/nettools.gif" width="32" height="32"></a><br>
                <br>
                <a href="net/index.html"><cpanel langprint="INDXNetworkTools"></a></td>
              </cpanelfeature>
       <cpanelfeature mime>
              <td width="75" nowrap><a href="mime/mime.html"><img border="0" src="mainicons/mime.gif" width="32" height="32"></a><br>
                <br>
                <a href="mime/mime.html"><cpanel langprint="TMIME"></a></td>
              </cpanelfeature>
               <cpanelfeature handlers>
              <td width="75" nowrap><a href="mime/handle.html"><img border="0" src="mainicons/apache.gif" width="60" height="30"></a><br>
                <br>
                <a href="mime/handle.html"><cpanel langprint="THandlers"></a></td>
              </cpanelfeature>
             <cpanelfeature pgp>
              <td width="75" nowrap><a href="gpg/index.html"><img border="0" src="mainicons/passprotection.gif" width="32" height="32"></a><br>
                <br>
                <a href="gpg/index.html"><cpanel langprint="INDXPGP"></a></td>
              </cpanelfeature>
    	  </tr>
    <tr align="center" valign="top">
    <cpanelfeature hotlink>
              <td width="75" nowrap><a href="mime/hotlink.html"><img border="0" src="mainicons/hotlink.gif" width="32" height="32"></a><br>
                <br>
                <a href="mime/hotlink.html"><cpanel langprint="THotLink"></a></td>
              </cpanelfeature>
    <cpanelfeature indexmanager>
              <td width="75" nowrap valign="top"><a href="indexmanager/index.html"><img border="0" src="mainicons/passprotection.gif" width="32" height="32"><br>
    <br>
    </a><a href="indexmanager/index.html">Index Manager</a></td>
    </cpanelfeature>
    <cpanelfeature ipdeny>
              <td width="75" nowrap valign="top"><a href="denyip/index.html"><img border="0" src="mainicons/passprotection.gif" width="32" height="32"><br>
    <br>
    </a><a href="denyip/index.html">IP Deny Manager</a></td>
    </cpanelfeature>
    <cpanelfeature setlang>
              <td width="75" nowrap valign="top"><a href="setlang/index.html"><img border="0" src="mainicons/password.gif" width="32" height="32"><br>
    <br>
    </a><a href="setlang/index.html">Change Language</a></td>
    </cpanelfeature>
    </tr>
    
    <cpanelif $CPFLAGS{'pro'}>
    <cpanel include="cpanelpro/x.html">
    </cpanelif>
    
    <tr>
    <cpanel include="fantastico/xskin.html">
    </tr>
    
    <tr>
    <cpanel include="smatrix/x.html">
    </tr>
    
    <tr>
    <cpanel include="localaddons/x.html">
    </tr>
              <td width="75" nowrap valign="top">&nbsp;</td>
    </tr>
    </table>
    </td>
    </tr>
    </table>
    <cpanel include="stdfooter.html">
    
     
  9. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You may be wasting your time as I believe any edits you do will be replaced every time cPanel is updated.
    I may be wrong.
    I know its possible to chattr the edited file but this starts to get a bit messy.
    Check out Rvskin it is a much better solution.
    [b]http://www.rvskin.com[/b]
    You can do all this and a whole lot more from within the admin panel.
     
    #9 Izzee, Apr 29, 2004
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2004
  10. fwwebs

    fwwebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just take a chunk of code and add something like this to the end.

    <cpanelfeature setlang>
    <td width="75" nowrap valign="top"><a href="setlang/index.html"><img border="0" src="mainicons/password.gif" width="32" height="32"><br>
    <br>
    </a><a href="setlang/index.html">Change Language</a></td>
    </cpanelfeature>
    </tr>

    <cpanelif $CPFLAGS{'pro'}>
    <cpanel include="cpanelpro/x.html">
    </cpanelif>

    <tr>
    <cpanel include="fantastico/xskin.html">
    </tr>
    Experiment some and you'll see the changes.




    This is true, so you clone the x theme using WHM and name it x_yourtheme. Make the changes to those files and when it updates, it should leave your theme alone.
     
Loading...

Share This Page