The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Add-on modsecurity

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by IberHosting, Sep 11, 2005.

?

Do you have the modsecurity installed from WHM Add-ons?

  1. Yes

    65.0%
  2. No

    35.0%
  1. IberHosting

    IberHosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Do you have the modsecurity installed from WHM Add-ons?

    How much errors, working fine, etc..?

    Thanks in advanced :)
     
  2. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Ditto, I try to avoid most of the addons and prefer to handle the installs and updates.


    (not sure why this posted above chirpy when it should have been belong. Someones time is off I guess :) )
     
    #2 dgbaker, Sep 11, 2005
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2005
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Voted No as I install and maintain it by hand :)
     
  4. gupi

    gupi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Voted Yes.
    Installed OK, corrected some typo in config causing a '0000-00-00' date storage in database.
    After that, all works like a charm.

    I have about 5 to 10 triggered 406 errors a day.
    Usually, IPs with more than 3 hits are added manually to APF blacklist.
     
  5. cooldude7273

    cooldude7273 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    I have it installed, but it just shows a blank page when I click on it?
     
  6. ramprage

    ramprage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    Why do all these things need to be setup through WHM? Install it manually. WHM isn't the kitchen counter for other junk you leave at the sink like your dirty shorts.
     
  7. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Because, in order to install manually, one needs to know how to do things at the O/S level. Unfortunatly there are too many that rely solely on cPanels web interfaces and do not know how to do things at the command level.
     
  8. cooldude7273

    cooldude7273 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    For example, myself! I am a self admitted linux n00b.
     
  9. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    LOL!!

    Admitting is the first step. Now we gotta get you past the n00b state. :D
     
  10. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    I used to do it myself, but on a new box I used the cpanel install. It works nicely. Saved me from typing a few commands, too. :p
     
  11. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I recently started having that same issue, what did you fix?
     
  12. gupi

    gupi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
Loading...

Share This Page