The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Add-On's pointing to Root Domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SylvrFalkon, Oct 26, 2007.

  1. SylvrFalkon

    SylvrFalkon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Everyone,

    Since having my server reinstalled a while back, whenever a user adds a add-on domain to their account, it is point to that users root directory even though they had specified a folder to create.

    So, for instance, if I create add-on 'test.com' on user 'main'. So I specify the directory for test and it creates the folder, but then if I look in the httpd.conf, it has it pointing to the mail public_html and not public_html/test. Little confusing, never had it like this before, I don't want to manually edit it each time...

    Any ideas?

    James
     
  2. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    Haven't came across such a problem and haven't heard of it either. Try a /scripts/upcp --force
     
  3. SylvrFalkon

    SylvrFalkon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ya, it is weird, ok, I will try that later tonight. Thanks.
     
  4. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I am seeing this as well. upcp --force does not resolve issue.
     
  5. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Uncheck "** Prevent users from creating subdomains outside of their public_html directory." apparently cPanel has not updated their X theme for this.
     
  6. SylvrFalkon

    SylvrFalkon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the advice, I have changed the setting, and will see how it goes next time I add an add-on domain. Thanks!
     
  7. SylvrFalkon

    SylvrFalkon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My apache went down for some reason after changing the setting... which was stressful because I have Blackberries pointing to it for orders for a sales application... I went through re-building things, apache, cpanel, etc... still didn't work. Then tried Apache restart, and everything came up... was not fun... but at least it's alive again.
     
    #7 SylvrFalkon, Nov 1, 2007
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2007
Loading...

Share This Page