The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Add Ptr to Domains DNS Zone

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Zepplin, Jul 21, 2008.

  1. Zepplin

    Zepplin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Blue Mountains, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    A simple question Regarding RDNS?

    Yes NOC has delegated RDNS to me via CP!

    When editing dns zone for the main domain using "Add New Entries Below this Line" you can select PTR which opens a new box to the right with "Hostname" inside, what exactly should go inside this box, the first part of the hostname? as it adds the domain name to the end when saving.

    Also the box to the left do you fill in the servers IP or does it have to be the IP added in reverse with arpa added to the end ie "105.225.55.117.in-addr.arpa"

    I'm having issues with some mail not being delivered due to no RDNS being setup for the server.
     
  2. viraj

    viraj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    You have to enter the complete hostname in the box on the right side.
    Make sure that the hostname is an FQDN & it resolves to the server's IP :)

    105.225.55.117.in-addr.arpa --> IN --> PTR --> server.domain.com
     
  3. Zepplin

    Zepplin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Blue Mountains, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Cheers viraj will try that. ;)
     
  4. markb14391

    markb14391 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have a related question. I already have rDNS set up for my server (the main IP address). But, for the domain of my hosting business, I have set up a dedicated IP in WHM. So I assume I need to set up rDNS for that too, if I'll be sending mail from that domain via its own IP address. But what FQDN do I put? I don't have an FQDN assigned to that IP. For example, the main IP is server.mydomain.com. So should I map rDNS for the specific IP to mail.mydomain.com, or www.mydomain.com, or what?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  5. markb14391

    markb14391 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Could someone from cPanel (or anyone) answer the above question for me? Thanks.
     
  6. viraj

    viraj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Hi Mark,
    Yes, you need to add the rDNS for that domain as well if you want to run emails from that particular dedicated IP.
    FQDN in this case would be your domain name itself, ie: domain.com or www.domain.com, either can work without any problems..
     
  7. markb14391

    markb14391 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thank you very much!
     
Loading...

Share This Page