The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Add SubDomain no longer works

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bwheatley, Jan 29, 2008.

  1. bwheatley

    bwheatley Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Add subdomain says it works and it creates the subdirectory but not the apache reference in httpd.conf and then i see this in /var/log/secure

    Any ideas? using X3 and X it does the same thing.

    Jan 29 09:14:48 ww1 Cp-Wrap[10606]: Pushing "32054 ADD merchant XXXXXXXXX 0 /home/uullc/public_html/merchant " to '/usr/local/cpanel
    /bin/domainadmin' for UID: 32054
    Jan 29 09:14:52 ww1 Cp-Wrap[10606]: CP-Wrapper terminated without error

    There are no other logs in /usr/local/cpanel either these are the only messages i can see that might give some insight.
     
  2. DimensionZero

    DimensionZero Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Hmm, I have this issue as well.

    Just to add, the subdomain on the user side appears to have been properly created but when you view the DNS zone via WHM, nothing has been added. The virtual host entries are also properly added to apache so it appears this is the only problem.

    I did a search on here and couldn't find anything.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    I am using WHM 11.15.0 cPanel 11.18.3-R21703 on CENTOS Enterprise 5 x86_64 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0
    cPanel is set to update to the latest Release version.


    Thanks!
     
  3. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is anything recorded in /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log regarding the subdomain?
     
  4. DimensionZero

    DimensionZero Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Hmm, I just tried it again since the error log had already been rotated and everything is working now. Weird.

    I'll have to wait and see if it happens again.

    Thanks for the quick response though, Kenneth.
     
  5. ReiJu

    ReiJu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I had this problem since last night (I run upcp every night by cron). The error_log shows something like this:
    Code:
    open2: exec of ./domainadmin.orig  failed at /usr/local/cpanel/bin/domainadmin line 8
    Cpanel::AdminBin::adminrun(domain) set error in context subdomain
    Tue Apr 29 01:16:24 2008 warn [subdomain::addsubdomain]: Encountered error in subdomain::addsubdomain: Error from domain wrapper:   at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/EventHandler.pm lin
    e 48
            Cpanel::EventHandler::event(1, 'post', 'subdomain', 'addsubdomain', 'HASH(0xa430f24)', 'ARRAY(0x91c03e8)') called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/SubDomain.pm line 181
            Cpanel::SubDomain::addsubdomain('test', 'amikyapri.ac.id', 0, 0, 'public_html_test') called at cpanel.pl line 3015
            main::dosubdomain('addsubdomain($FORM{\'domain\'},$FORM{\'rootdomain\'},0,0,$FORM{\...') called at cpanel.pl line 1762
            main::exectag('<cpanel SubDomain="addsubdomain($FORM{\'domain\'},$FORM{\'rootdo...') called at cpanel.pl line 4806
            main::dotag('addsubdomain') called at cpanel.pl line 4673
            main::cpanel_parseblock('SCALAR(0x919fa24)') called at cpanel.pl line 4625
            main::cpanel_parse('GLOB(0x9fa5264)') called at cpanel.pl line 1295
    I changed the file /usr/local/cpanel/bin/domainadmin (you can see the changes in diff output), and this problem solved. But I don't think this is the right way. Any enlightenment?
    Code:
    # diff -Naurp /usr/local/cpanel/bin/domainadmin{.20080429,}
    --- /usr/local/cpanel/bin/domainadmin.20080429  2008-04-29 01:21:41.000000000 +0000
    +++ /usr/local/cpanel/bin/domainadmin   2008-04-29 01:18:36.000000000 +0000
    @@ -5,7 +5,7 @@ open F,">>/tmp/log1";print F "--- input
     
     use FileHandle;
     use IPC::Open2;
    -$pid = open2(*Reader, *Writer, "./domainadmin.orig ".join(" ",@ARGV) );
    +$pid = open2(*Reader, *Writer, "/usr/local/cpanel/bin/domainadmin.orig ".join(" ",@ARGV) );
     print Writer @INPUT;
     @OUTPUT = <Reader>;
     print @OUTPUT;
     
  6. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Try /scripts/upcp --force
     
  7. DimensionZero

    DimensionZero Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Bringing this one back from the dead...

    So I'm not sure what's causing this but here's a bit more information.

    We have 1 account (domain1.com) which contains an add-on domains (domain2.com, domain3.com)

    What happens is, when we try to add a subdomain to domain2.com, the DNS records in /var/named/domain2.com.db do not get created.

    Manually editing the zone in WHM works fine.

    Adding subdomains to domain1.com works fine and as far as I can tell, works fine for all other accounts including domain3.com which makes it even more confusing.

    We've tried removing domain2.com from cpanel completely, making sure all traces were gone on the server (i deleted the XDNS entries in /var/cpanel/users/[cpaneluser] and ran /scripts/updateuserdomains)

    Still nothing.

    In past cases, we found that running /scripts/upcp --force would resolve the issue until what I suspected was an auto update or something (I'm not 100% sure about this) where it would suddenly stop working again...

    There were no error messages in /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log or anything to suggest that something had gone wrong.


    Any additional help would be greatly appreciated.
    As I said, so far, it seems like it's just affecting this one domain.


    Thanks!!
     
  8. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please open a support ticket for this. Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page