The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Add User ID & Forum Becomes Unusable

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by PlopCat, Oct 15, 2010.

  1. PlopCat

    PlopCat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    What I'm trying to do is add my admin so he can edit under the "Limited Guest Viewing System" &
    "Register Take-Over Message Count" message in admin control panel in the forum.

    When he clicks on the edit link ^ he gets
    Under that there's another link "Administrator Permissions" he gets this

    I'm adding them from here in cPanel under the in the config.php file:
    Account name>File manager>Web Root (public_html/www)>Forum>Includes>config.php and click Edit


    So the whole point of this post is the error I get when his user ID is inserted to try to make him a super administrator:
    And of course the the whole forum is unusable.

    It says in the php code that I can add another user in there & think I'm doing it right. My ID is already in there so there will be two users.

    My ID is like this already & works fine '1';
    I've tried every which way to add him after me but get the same results

    Why is this error coming up & what can I do about it?
    I'll add this too. And what extra permissions will he get if he's added?

    Thanks
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Can't help with the permissions for the forum question, you'll have to take that up with the software vendor. But it sounds to me like you're editing the file incorrectly somehow. Are you indeed editing line 116?
     
  3. PlopCat

    PlopCat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for answering. Yeah, I ask here in regards that it is cPanel I'm working in. I hope I am correct in this.

    Line 116 is
    I took myself out of that line even. That throws me for the
    it is on line 133.
    I've tried the regular "Edit" & the "Code editor". Both result in the error message.

    Anyone else care to give this a shot?

    Thanks
     
  4. PlopCat

    PlopCat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Anyone? Or am I seeing this wrong as not a cPanel question?
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's more applicable to ask the forum where the script is made, which appears to be a forum of some sort. The forum name wasn't mentioned (phpBB, SMF, etc, on what it happens to be).

    Anything to do with a specific script or application that isn't one we make would be easier to post on that script's forum as they are the experts for errors relating to it.
     
  6. PlopCat

    PlopCat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Thank you. That helps me more.

    In the script at the top it says
    And also (which may of answered my own question in part):
    I still am not sure what code it is but I will ask my host on both of these questions.

    Thanks for the explanation to this noob
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It sounds like it's vBulletin based on it having Jelsoft at the top for the copyright. Their forum is at the following location:

    vBulletin Forum
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It also sounds like either a very out of date forum, or nulled.

    It should say:

    || # Copyright ©2000-2010 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All Rights Reserved.
     
  9. PlopCat

    PlopCat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for both reply's Infopro & straightening the code thing up. I'll try the other forum.
    We're using 3.8.5 so I don't know if that's why it said 2000-2009 Jelsoft... or not.
     
Loading...

Share This Page