Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Add user problem - cannot login

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by alanpollenz, Oct 6, 2008.

  1. alanpollenz

    alanpollenz Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Outside the event horizon
    I am trying to add a user manually via the command line when logged in via ssh with root access (I don't want a domain to be setup, simply an account I can store files in).

    I use the following:

    useradd -p mypassword myname

    but I cannot login via ftp using myname/mypassword.

    I get the same problem if I do the following:

    useradd myname
    passwd myname

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks.

    Alan Pollenz
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When adding a user outside the automation of cPanel/WHM, you will also need to create a FTP user manually to allow FTP access.

    Note, it may be easier if you removed that account then created a cPanel account with a domain/subdomain you know wont ever be used such as username.example.com.
     
  3. alanpollenz

    alanpollenz Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Outside the event horizon
    Thanks for the prompt reply.
     
  4. Ghulam Yaseen

    Ghulam Yaseen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Karachi,Pakistan
    Yaseen

    Hello :),

    Can you please let me know the exact error you get while accessing the ftp account:rolleyes:
     
  5. livewebcs

    livewebcs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Think I may have found a good work-a-round

    Based on other suggestions

    1)
    I setup a DUMMY cpanel account called rabbit.rabbit.com (use something that will never ever actually work).

    rabbitr with password bunny

    2)
    I went to etc/passwd
    You will see it setup normally with the home directory pointing to /home/rabbit
    You need to change this to something like this
    rabbitr:x:32018:32020::/home/superman/public_ftp/siprouser:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell

    Change /home/superman/public_ftp/siprouser to wherever you want the login to point. Make sure it is created and make sure its permissions are working.

    3) restarted ftp server
    /etc/init.d/pure-ftpd restart

    4) went into the WHM and resynked ftp password

    5) tried to login to that login and it sent me to the new directory I entered without 530 failure
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice