The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

add user question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by autumnwalker, Jan 5, 2005.

  1. autumnwalker

    autumnwalker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How do i add users to mydomain.com/~username or mydomain.com/username etc.

    when i click add new account, i have to enter a domain name. the only way to work this is i had to type mydomain.com/~user then username: user and pass etc. once i submit it works and the url works. BUT when u view account it displays them as "ydomain.comuser"! and if u click on it it takes you too mydomain.comuser which is an invalid url. So HOW do i add users when it asks me to put a domain name in?
     
  2. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    a domain can have only one username. and the domain can be accessed as http://ip/~username/ . i do not think there is any other alternative.
     
  3. autumnwalker

    autumnwalker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    im try to set up a hosting service. i know that not everyone has a domain.com and somepoeple want a mydomain.com/~user. How would i go about doing this? I want to make accounts for people that dont have domains using my domin.com/~andthem. Any tips?
     
  4. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    :) just give a domain name eg: ids6ythg.com give the username and create the account with a package. Now you can access the domain via http://ip/~username/

    there is no harm with such a domain name being used. right ?
     
  5. autumnwalker

    autumnwalker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thank you very much. I didnt not know if a false domain would mess it up or not .
     
Loading...

Share This Page