The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adding a link to cpanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dory36, Sep 1, 2003.

  1. dory36

    dory36 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How do I add an icon/link to cpanel, so my users can access their trouble ticket/payment system from within cpanel?

    Thanks!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I added this in WHM news.
     
  3. dory36

    dory36 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    For us newbies -- where do I find WHM News?

    It doesn't come up in my whm/cpanel itself - I guess the ISP didn't put it in.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It's in the left column of WHM. Modify cPanel/WHM News in the cPanel section. Third block from the bottom above SSL/TLS.
     
  5. dory36

    dory36 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry - I wasn't clear. I have the link, but when I click that link, I get a blank screen. That's what I meant when I said I didn't have it.

    Bill

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    What version of WHM are you running? What skin are you using?
     
  7. dory36

    dory36 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    WHM 7.4.2 cPanel 7.4.2-R81
    RedHat 7.3 - WHM X v2.1

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well, it should be there. You might want to try updating Cpanel.
     
  9. dory36

    dory36 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'll pursue that. In the meantime, would someone post info on how to link inside cpanel here? Thanks.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    The easiest is in the news. the other way would be to change the theme itself with your own icons/links. However if you fail to chattr +i the theme or the actual files you edited within the theme, they just get overwritten on every cpanel release.

    The themes are located in the frontend directory.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Unless you rename it and make it a completely separate theme. Then when the original theme updates you can check it to see what changed and then add the changes to your custom theme as needed.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    yes that is a good way to do it. You do this by the "clone a cpanel theme" option from WHM, then there is no need for the chattr +i

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. dory36

    dory36 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I found the problem. My reseller account does not have have that privilege enabled. I can probably get that changed, and then the news will work well for what I want.

    FWIW - any reason a hosting provider would not want its resellers to be able to post news?

    Thanks -- Bill

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. mjm

    mjm BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    because they are stupid?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. tkoweb

    tkoweb Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    WHM specifically allows resellers to post their own news that only displays in their customers' cpanels, so there's NO reason they should be disallowing access for you. Demand that they give you the access you need to post your news, it's just a click of a mouse for them to re-allow it. Then hope they don't agree so you can host with someone else :)



    ---
    WHM's account migration is a thing of beauty.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. TDD

    TDD Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    In WHM i have set the text that should display to all cpanel users.

    But after feeding text when i log in cpanel..no where can i see that text.... where those text get displayed? some link is there or its on the page which we see after logging in cpanel.

    Thanks
    TDD
     
Loading...

Share This Page