Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Adding a new disk

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Zoltan Aradszki, Mar 9, 2019.

  1. Zoltan Aradszki

    Zoltan Aradszki Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Hungary
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I'd like to add a new disk, and I want to use it for account's home.

    1st drive (currently in home): /dev/nvme0n1p4 (mounted at Filesystem Root) (EFI, BOOT, SWAP on same disk, but on separate partitions, of course)

    2nd drive - it's a new disk: /dev/nvme1n1 (mounted at /home02)

    3rd drive: /dev/sda (mounted at /backup)

    So, how can I set the home directories in WHM's Basic Webhost Manager?

    Currently I get some error message, when i create a new cpanel account.

    Thank you,
    Zoltan

    Képernyőfotó 2019-03-09 - 14.11.45.png
     

    Attached Files:

    #1 Zoltan Aradszki, Mar 9, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2019
  2. Gojko

    Gojko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Macedonia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i also have question about this, when i create account how to choose which partition? or it need to go default partition and then rearrange account to second partition? (if this is true is any API for this rearrange?) because i use API for create new accounts

    my second partition is /mnt/home2 (do i need to do something in basic configuration WHM for additional mount point option)?
     
    #2 Gojko, Mar 10, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2019
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    46,333
    Likes Received:
    2,039
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Gojko,

    This is configurable with the following options in WHM >> Basic WebHost Manager® Setup:

    Enter the location where you wish for new users’ home directories to be created. By default all directories matching the "Home Directory Prefix" are checked for available disk space and the directory with the most free space will be used.

    Additional home directories matching the following value will also be used for new home directory creations. (Leaving this value blank disables the feature.) Only mount points are considered. This option only takes one value.

    Can you share the output from /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log when creating a new account?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Gojko

    Gojko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Macedonia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You are right. When i create it create on second partition.
    But i have problem. In WHM > List Accounts show 0MB disk usage i run: "/scripts/fixquotas" but still show 0MB.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    46,333
    Likes Received:
    2,039
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice