Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Adding a second IP address not working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ed.kalk, Oct 21, 2008.

  1. ed.kalk

    ed.kalk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    When I added a 2nd IP through web interface, it shows up in red when viewing with "Main >> IP Functions >> Show or Delete Current IP Addresses"

    I'm not sure why, but it looks like Cpanel is trying to create a sub-interface called eth0:1 for the secondary address. For some reason the ipaliases service isn't creating the interface.

    What is the Proper way to add the IP address as a secondary address on the Main interface?

    I'm tryong to add this second IP so that I can Migrate the Cpanel server over to a different Subnet...

    Is there an easy way to do this? What am I doing wrong?

    The second IP i want to add is :

    216.xxx.197.18
    255.255.255.248
    the new gateway after migration will be:
    216.xxx.197.17

    this is my ifconfig -a: ( I used x to protect actual info)

    root@mailserver [~]# ifconfig -a
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:07:E9:xx:xx:xx
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Base address:0x2040 Memory:fe8c0000-fe8e0000

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:07:E9:xx:xx:xx
    inet addr:216.xxx.197.2 Bcast:216.xxx.197.15 Mask:255.255.255.240
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:287612900 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:382445606 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:4131582767 (3940.1 Mb) TX bytes:3965045520 (3781.3 Mb)
    Base address:0x2080 Memory:fe8a0000-fe8c0000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:107236894 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:107236894 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:9421993 (8.9 Mb) TX bytes:9421993 (8.9 Mb)
     
    #1 ed.kalk, Oct 21, 2008
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2008
  2. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Go into your WHM Basic setup and make sure your Alternate Main Ethernet Device is set to eth1.

    Then try to readd the ip.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. ed.kalk

    ed.kalk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Yea buddy!

    It worked. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice