Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Adding additional domains to same IP/WHM account

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Travis959, Apr 5, 2012.

  1. Travis959

    Travis959 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I recently purchased a new domain name that I would like to add to my vps that uses Cpanel/WHM. I've set up a new account in WHM, and I've added the IP to my external DNS provider. When I ping the new domain, it points to the correct IP address, however I just get a 404 error message when browsing to the domain in Chrome. The IP address is shared with my current website, however I read this would not be an issue.

    I've confirmed the home address is correct, and the link works if I put in http://ip address/~homedirectory/. The 404 error message makes me think it is not going where it should. Is there something else I have to add in WHM to get the browser to go to the correct directory when I input the domain name?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Have you given it enough time to propagate?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Travis959

    Travis959 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I believe so, as it's been roughly 36 hours, and I could see the default godaddy page at least 30 hours ago under the domain.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you want, send me a private message with the URL and I'll see if it opens for me here at this end.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Travis959

    Travis959 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Ironically right after you made that post the website started working. Looks like it was because of propagation after all.

    Thanks. :)
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Great to hear, you're welcome!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice