The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

adding Addon domains when you don't have the nameserver yet

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by sitemouse, Apr 19, 2003.

  1. sitemouse

    sitemouse Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,
    I'm migrating from an old server (not cPanel) to a new server, and I'd like to be able to set up all my addon domains before I move the DNS records over. I have named running locally on the server, with the server set up to resolve locally.
    The problem is that whenever i try to set up an addon domain, it complains that the nameservers for the domain point to a different site. Is there any way that I can fool cPanel into adding the addon domain even though it doesn't actually point to the current server? Other functions such as the main domains don't seem to complain that the domain isn't actually pointing there.
    Thanks a lot for any help that you all can provide.

    Regards,
    Erek
     
  2. Elena

    Elena Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    You can change the settings for addon domains in WHM> Tweak Settings
     
  3. sitemouse

    sitemouse Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you!
     
  4. JerryMuelver

    JerryMuelver Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Interesting. Where is WHM > Tweak Settings? No such item on my WHM or cPanel home pages.
     
  5. X-Istencedotcom

    X-Istencedotcom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    are you root? If you arnt that is why.
     
  6. kwatt

    kwatt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Why security problem??

    Tweak setting says:

    "Allow Creation of Parked/Addon Domains that resolve to other servers (ie domain transfers) [This can be a major security problem. If you must have it enabled, be sure to not allow users to park common internet domains.] "

    Could someone explain why this would be a major securitly problem?
    Even have it enabled, nothing should happen unless DNS is resolved

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. mgwilliams

    mgwilliams Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Why security problem??

    The problem arises when one of your customers decides to park "aol.com" at his domain. Now, when any of your other customers (using your SMTP server) sends an email to somone@aol.com, it will be routed to the first customer's domain.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page