The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adding CNAME

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by WebKingPin, Aug 25, 2004.

  1. WebKingPin

    WebKingPin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I would like to add a Cname so requests to domains.mydomain.com go access.enom.com.
    What needs to be changed in WHM in the edit DNS Zone

    Currently I have...

    access.mydomain.com 14400 IN CNAME access.emon.com (blank) (Blank)

    Correct?

    Thanks!
    WKP
     
  2. NetX

    NetX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes is correct, except you have to put a dot at the end of access.emon.com and is not emon is enom :)


    access.yourdomain.com 14400 IN CNAME access.enom.com. (blank) (blank)
     
  3. WebKingPin

    WebKingPin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    :p

    LOL , fingers are all typed out!

    Thanks,

    WKP
     
  4. ryno267

    ryno267 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    nice! totally helped me out... thanks

    But let me add another question to the mix....

    It's displaying like 5 lines of form fields - but if I have like 16 domains to forward to this guy's site - will it add more field lines after i hit save on the first 5? I guess worst case I could try it huh....

    thx
     
    #4 ryno267, Jun 1, 2005
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2005
  5. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    Wouldn't just adding the following in zone file of yourdomain.com be correct?

    access 14400 IN CNAME access.enom.com.

    Yes more would appear later when you want to add more.
    Anup
     
Loading...

Share This Page