The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adding DB from CPanel Not Showing in PHPMyAdmin

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by longevitysoft, Oct 6, 2006.

  1. longevitysoft

    longevitysoft Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm using CPanel for adding a MySQL database. When I add a database from CPanel there is no problem - however - the database just added isn't showing up in the PHPMyAdmin accessed from clients' CPanel. Yet - the PHPMyAdmin accessed from WHM shows the database exists. Also - I see the correct file structure in /var/lib/mysql as it should be - for the newly created DB.

    Finally - running the "show databases;" command from the terminal (this client has chroot'ed shell access) as the client doesn't show the database!

    Does anybody have ideas why the DB isn't showing up in PHPMyAdmin accessed from CPanel for the client?

    We're running:
    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-C21
    CentOS 4.4 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0
    mySql 5.0
    CPanel current build...
     
  2. designeru

    designeru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Access...

    Did you allowed that customer to use that database ?
     
  3. joker20

    joker20 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Im having the same issue!
    Running
    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-C39
    CentOS 4.4 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0
    Mysql 4.1

    What could the problem be!
     
  4. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Make sure the permission and ownership are set correctly on this client's DB in /var/lib/mysql/
    uid.gid is mysql.mysql
    chmod 700 CLIENT_DB
     
  5. longevitysoft

    longevitysoft Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    more information

    Andy - thank you for the reply - your reply is the only one in this thread (and MANY others from what I see in this forum) that offers progress towards resolving this issue. However, the uid/gid are _not_ the problem and (we should have mentioned this) always appeared correct.

    We have more information - but are still working towards resolution. There seems to be a bug in a script we have not yet identified. Here's the deal...

    Logging into mysql as root and checking the "mysql" database we found apparently missing records in the "db" table.

    There was no record for the newly created database in the "db" table! We had to issue an insert statement for the "db" table in the "mysql" database. For example: "insert into db values ('localhost', 'clientuser\_fybprotos', 'clientuser', 'Y', 'Y', 'Y', 'Y', 'Y', 'Y', 'N', 'Y', 'Y', 'Y', 'Y', 'Y');"

    Then issuing a "FLUSH PRIVILEGES;" command caused the database to appear in the user's PHPMyAdmin interface.

    Clearly something is missing in a CPanel script for adding databases. ANY IDEAS WHAT SCRIPT TO LOOK AT?
     
  6. RickG

    RickG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Carolina
  7. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    I couldn't replicate the problem you have on one of our servers using: WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-R37. What is your OS and WHM/cPanel version?
     
  8. longevitysoft

    longevitysoft Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    check first post

    Thanks for responding. The information you request is in the original post. As you noticed in the thread - at least one other person has the same issue - so it is reproducible. Once we figure out what script is handling the "add mysql db" from CPanel we'll post the fix or present a bug report.

    It certainly is strange that you can't reproduce the issue since your WHM/CPanel version is so "close" to ours...If you're thinking something is unique to our setup your conclusion seems reasonable. My hunch is: reproducing this error may be related to switching from Stable to Edge and then to Current builds. Alternatively - perhaps Fantastico is a factor (the reaason being - for example - creating WordPress blogs in Fantastico works fine: the WP DB is created properly and doesn't exhibit the same problem(s)). Nevertheless, rebuilding the server is a poor option at this time and it will be easier to debug/fix the offending CPanel script...

    Does anybody know what script is called when a user "Adds a MySQL DB" from CPanel?

    -F
     
Loading...

Share This Page