The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adding IP Addresses to the Pool

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rwdcsi, Mar 18, 2002.

  1. rwdcsi

    rwdcsi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I need to add 90+ addresses to a server. Is there a way to add a list
    of IP addresses from a file?

    Entering 90+ addresses via the &add& function in WHM is not appealing
    right now.

    Thanks,
    Ron D.
     
  2. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:59527f8b44][i:59527f8b44]Originally posted by rwdcsi[/i:59527f8b44]

    I need to add 90+ addresses to a server. Is there a way to add a list
    of IP addresses from a file?

    Entering 90+ addresses via the &add& function in WHM is not appealing
    right now.

    Thanks,
    Ron D. [/quote:59527f8b44]

    Are you looking for a way to upload a file with a list of ips and have whm add them all ?
     
  3. rwdcsi

    rwdcsi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Not so much an upload, will not be used by our customers. We are
    getting a new server, our first CPanel server, ready for production.

    I understood we needed IP addresses added to the server, available
    in the address pool, for adding IP based domains to the server. I
    can use the &add IP& function in WHM, but if I can use a file and
    run a few commands I would be much happier (already have a text file
    with the IP's in it).

    If there is already such a script, or if I can get a list of commands
    to run and files to check would be great. Just don't want to hose
    anything at this point. Should have had this machine ready for
    production last week.

    Thanks,
    Ron D.
     
  4. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:f396b4cfa4][i:f396b4cfa4]Originally posted by rwdcsi[/i:f396b4cfa4]

    Not so much an upload, will not be used by our customers. We are
    getting a new server, our first CPanel server, ready for production.

    I understood we needed IP addresses added to the server, available
    in the address pool, for adding IP based domains to the server. I
    can use the &add IP& function in WHM, but if I can use a file and
    run a few commands I would be much happier (already have a text file
    with the IP's in it).

    If there is already such a script, or if I can get a list of commands
    to run and files to check would be great. Just don't want to hose
    anything at this point. Should have had this machine ready for
    production last week.

    Thanks,
    Ron D.[/quote:f396b4cfa4]


    I can add a textbox to the add ip page and just add any ip you paste into there after you click the add button. Does this sound like something you would want ?
     
  5. rwdcsi

    rwdcsi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That would be cool. Seems like most hosting companies would use it,
    unless I am off track and we don't need the IP's added to be able to
    do IP based hosting. I'm still fairly new to CPanel and not real sure
    of some of my assumptions.

    I also know there are several files, system and CPanel, involved in
    IP based hosting and do not want to get them out of sync.

    Thanks,
    Ron D.

    btw, very nice package you have put together. going to take a while
    to learn all of it though.
     
  6. dzevad

    dzevad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm for the text box, so I don't have to entery single IP's everytime :)

    Thanks,

    Dzevad
     
  7. jumpdomain

    jumpdomain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can cut and paste the IPs into the /etc/ips file. Then rebuild the IP address pool in WHM.
     
  8. rwdcsi

    rwdcsi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    [quote:c61df9ac97][i:c61df9ac97]Originally posted by jumpdomain[/i:c61df9ac97]

    You can cut and paste the IPs into the /etc/ips file. Then rebuild the IP address pool in WHM.
    [/quote:c61df9ac97]

    Will this method properly update all systems and CPanel files?
     
  9. idn

    idn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    YEAH! I am up for the textbox... amazing :)

    Sean
     
  10. Daniel

    Daniel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The ability to add a range of IPs would also be nice. Something like add xxx.xxx.xxx.100 to xxx.xxx.xxx.199.
     
  11. m0bster

    m0bster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Im with Daniel on that...cmon, DarkOrb...show us what ya got!
     
Loading...

Share This Page