Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Adding SPF for hostname

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by maestroc, Feb 5, 2018.

Tags:
  1. maestroc

    maestroc Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    I have a working spf record that covers the root domain and ip addresses on the server. However, any emails that the root system sends out (notifications from cpanel, csf, etc.) are getting marked as failing spf and dkim even though everything else sent from individual user accounts work fine. It appears that my hostname vps.mydomain.com is not being accepted.

    How can I update the settings so that WHM, etc. send out mails that pass both SPF and DKIM?

    The current record looks like this:

    v=spf1 ip4:xx.xx.xx.xx +ip4:xx.xx.xx.xy +a +mx include:_spf.google.com ~all

    Is it just as simple as adding include:vps.mydomain.com to the record?
     
  2. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    May I know what is the reason for having google.com entry in the SPF?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. maestroc

    maestroc Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Because I use google apps for my business email from that domain.
     
  4. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    The SPF should contain the information of the server that it is coming out from, so no need to add google in it.. You can simply state the server IP addresses and hostname of the server if you want..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. maestroc

    maestroc Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    According to Google I have to have that SPF record. Otherwise email sent out by Google Apps using my domain name will fail authentication (Configure SPF records to work with G Suite - G Suite Administrator Help).

    In any case, disregard the google apps stuff as this is not related to my original question of this thread. I need to know how to set up my SPF records so that mail sent from vps.mydomain.com doesn't fail validation. The SPF record already covers stuff coming from mydomain.com. How do I get vps.mydomain.com to validate as well?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,659
    Likes Received:
    1,787
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice