The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Additional Accounts

Discussion in 'Security' started by mburgoon, Feb 7, 2012.

1. mburgoon

mburgoon Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm very new to cPanel WHM so please bear with me. I've attempted to find this answer in the forums but came up short.

Basically I'm looking for the "proper" way to add accounts for my employees so that they only have access to manage email accounts for our clients.

By default we have the main root WHM user, that has privileges to do anything to the server. I have been the only one using that account, basically to cut our client accounts and I've been going into their specific cPanel areas to create their requested email accounts (our clients prefer us to manage their email accounts for them).

I have a couple employees I would like to create accounts for. Really the only thing I want them to do is be able to access our client's cPanel account in order to add new email addresses. I do not really want to give these employees full root access to the server. Really just access the "List Accounts" page and then access the limited client cPanel area.

I went ahead and created mock reseller accounts for my employees. However in order to access the accounts I've previously cut (under the root user), they too have to have root (full access) privileges selected in the reseller settings. Is this the only way, that is all my employees must also have root access, or am I missing something?

Is there a way to "share" accounts amongst resellers? In other words, get the accounts I created to display under the "list accounts" section of my employees reseller account?