Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Additional Backup Destinations Issue

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by rewart01, Nov 11, 2018.

  1. rewart01

    rewart01 Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Hi All.

    I have about a dozen WHM systems, several of which just updated to v76.0.5. I logged into one of these and noted this morning that one of them was not configured for off-server backups.

    I went to configure a FTP destination just like all my others and in the "Backup Directory" I went to put the same path: /ftpuser/servername but it gave me an error message that it had to be a relative path. I had to remove the leading / to make it accept the entry.

    However when I tried to validate, it errored saying it couldn't upload the file. I verified that all my other servers have /ftpuser/servername but this one wouldn't accept it nor would the validation work. I struggled for a while testing different things to see if something changed, but nothing seemed to work.

    I finally edited the related backup_destination file in /var/cpanel/backups added the leading / to the path so it now said:
    path /ftpuser/servername
    Bingo, it worked first time.

    So I think there may be a bug in the field validation for backup directory in additional FTP destinations. I hadn't set one up for a few versions so I cannot speak to when it might have started but I have a server on 74.0.10 that is also asking for the relative path.

    Thanks.
    Rick
     
  2. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,447
    Likes Received:
    503
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @rewart01


    Would it be possible for you to share the following two files:

    Code:
    /var/cpanel/backups/config
    Code:
    /var/cpanel/backups/$remotedest_UID_$hash.backup_destination
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. rewart01

    rewart01 Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Sure.... See below. But I changed the destination IP and password hash. Note that I put the / in the front of the path for the backup destination config, which is what got it working.

    Code:
    # cat /var/cpanel/backups/config
    ---
    BACKUPACCTS: 'yes'
    BACKUPBWDATA: 'yes'
    BACKUPDAYS: 0,1,2,3,4,5,6
    BACKUPDIR: /backup
    BACKUPENABLE: 'yes'
    BACKUPFILES: 'yes'
    BACKUPLOGS: 'no'
    BACKUPMOUNT: 'no'
    BACKUPSUSPENDEDACCTS: 'no'
    BACKUPTYPE: compressed
    BACKUP_DAILY_ENABLE: 'yes'
    BACKUP_DAILY_RETENTION: 3
    BACKUP_MONTHLY_DATES: 1
    BACKUP_MONTHLY_ENABLE: 'no'
    BACKUP_MONTHLY_RETENTION: 1
    BACKUP_WEEKLY_DAY: 0
    BACKUP_WEEKLY_ENABLE: 'no'
    BACKUP_WEEKLY_RETENTION: 4
    CHECK_MIN_FREE_SPACE: 1
    DISABLE_METADATA: 'no'
    ERRORTHRESHHOLD: 3
    FORCE_PRUNE_DAILY: 0
    FORCE_PRUNE_MONTHLY: 0
    FORCE_PRUNE_WEEKLY: 0
    GZIPRSYNCOPTS: --rsyncable
    KEEPLOCAL: 1
    LINKDEST: 0
    LOCALZONESONLY: 'no'
    MAXIMUM_RESTORE_TIMEOUT: 21600
    MAXIMUM_TIMEOUT: 7200
    MIN_FREE_SPACE: 5
    MIN_FREE_SPACE_UNIT: percent
    MYSQLBACKUP: both
    POSTBACKUP: 'no'
    PREBACKUP: -1
    PSQLBACKUP: 'no'

    Code:
    cat /var/cpanel/backups/WD_NAS_on_LAN_UID_REMOVED_backup_destination
    ---
    disabled: 0
    host: 1.2.3.4
    id: REMOVED
    name: WD NAS on LAN
    passive: 1
    password: 12345678
    path: /abc123/maia
    port: 21
    timeout: 30
    type: FTP
    upload_system_backup: 1
    username: abc123
     
    #3 rewart01, Nov 13, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 13, 2018
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,447
    Likes Received:
    503
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @rewart01

    That all looks correct and as far as I am aware it should recognize both an absolute and relative path.
    Can you please open a ticket using the link in my signature? Once open please reply with the Ticket ID here so that we can update this thread with the resolution once the ticket is resolved.


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. rewart01

    rewart01 Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I can do that, but attached is a screen shot showing it won't do a full path backup.png
     
  6. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,447
    Likes Received:
    503
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @rewart01


    That's the standard behavior, I think I misunderstood what the issue was. This is like that for any of the backup destinations as the path is relative to the user's home directory "Specify the path, relative to the account’s home directory," That leading \ needs to be removed. I believe this was part of the improvements made to the WHM Backup Configuration UI for CPANEL-21586 and form validation resolutions in CPANEL-20529

    I thought initially you were referring to a trailing / not a leading /
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. 1Walter2

    1Walter2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, this solved my issue as well, this is definately a bug now with cpanel and they need to fix this. Since it wont allow an initial / it was creating the directory under the root folder, totally stupid
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice