The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Additional IP Doesnt work

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by razR, Jul 20, 2012.

  1. razR

    razR Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello!

    I have a problem with accessing an IP address.

    I have an extra IP which i have added to cPanel and it has been added successfully, i can ping and get response (from intern and extern).

    However when i bind the ip address to an account Firefox just says it cannot be found.

    When i try lynx on the webserver itself it also cannot connect, connecting to the IP says the same but while pinging i get response.

    I used the "Change Site's IP Address" feature and selected the account.

    How can i fix this issue?


    Edit
    For the heads up, i've got 3 IP's.


    Shared IP -> Connect to it and it says Default Webpage... That one works.
    Second IP -> Connect to it and it says Firefox cant connect to the server.
    Third IP -> Same as above.

    I have assigned the third ip to my domain but it just dont work, cant connect, not even with LYNX on the Webserver itself.
     
    #1 razR, Jul 20, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2012
  2. NixTree

    NixTree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gods Own Country
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What web server do you use? I had issues with Litespeed web server for additional IPS; an HTTP service restart fixed the issue1

    ( make sure the IP resolves to the correct server. you can use "telnet IP 25" command to confirm the host )
     
  3. razR

    razR Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm using the NGINX ADMIN plugin, however i uninstalled the plugin to test if that was the problem and rebuild Apache again with easyapache. Didnt work either.

    The IP does point to the correct server, i have tested it by SSH'ing to it.
     
  4. JayFromEpic

    JayFromEpic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In that case, you need to contact your server provider. This is a common error. I see this same issue about 20 times daily where the IP assigned to the server has not been correctly routed.

    Simple fix on the datacenter side.
     
  5. razR

    razR Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I think my IP's are working correctly since i can connect with the 2 ip's through SSH on port 22.

    Below are my IP's

    Main IP (ns1): 37.34.57.135
    Second IP (ns2): 37.34.58.246
    Third IP: 37.34.59.32

    You can also ping to the ip's and it will response.
     
    #5 razR, Jul 21, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2012
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you have a firewall? If you do, try disabling it temporarily to see the results.
     
  7. razR

    razR Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Nope, didn't work while CSF & Iptables has stopped.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Please check to ensure the IP address is not configured as a reserved IP via:

    "WHM >> Service Configuration >> Apache Configuration >> Reserved IPs Editor"

    You can also try rebuilding the Apache configuration file:

    Code:
    # /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf
    Beyond that, you may want to consider submitting a ticket so we can take a closer look:

    Submit A Ticket

    Thank you.
     
  9. razR

    razR Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This worked like a charm, you are my hero!
     
Loading...

Share This Page