The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Additional IPs not working...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mr Goodie2Shoes, Feb 19, 2012.

  1. Mr Goodie2Shoes

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello again,
    I have assigned dedicated IPs to my clients' domains and they are not working... simply says "Server not found" and if I change them back to the server's main IP it works... am I missing something?
     
  2. tanfwc

    tanfwc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    When you mean server not found, are you referring to the browser type? Have you ensure that the DNS is updated too?
     
  3. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do the IPs ping? You can run the following to test any IP after adding it to your machine:

    Code:
    ping IP#
    Please replace IP# with the IP you are checking. You would want to run the above command on your local system. If you aren't able to ping using your local system, you can always use Traceroute, Ping, Domain Name Server (DNS) Lookup, WHOIS to ping the IP address.

    If the IP isn't pinging, try disabling your firewall or restarting ipaliases:

    Code:
    service ipaliases restart
     
  4. Mr Goodie2Shoes

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes I've tried pinging and it works...
     
  5. Mr Goodie2Shoes

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Didn't get you...
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you pinging on a machine other than the machine itself? If you ping the server's own IP addresses, they will ping on the same server even if unreachable outside of the server.
     
  7. Mr Goodie2Shoes

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    lol... I am not that dumb :P

    I pinged them from my home computer...
     
  8. Mr Goodie2Shoes

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For the main IP (http://#IP) I am getting the "Default Web Page"
    and for the additional IPs getting an "Unable to Connect" from Firefox...
     
  9. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please go ahead and submit a ticket using WHM > Support Center > Contact cPanel and please provide the ticket number here after opening one.
     
Loading...

Share This Page