The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Additional MySQL Access Hosts - Question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sonijay, Feb 7, 2013.

  1. sonijay

    sonijay Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I'm reading doc for "Additional MySQL Access Hosts" - click here

    Excerpt: After you have added the hostnames to the access list, your cPanel users must access Remote MySQL and add the hosts.

    What I'm confused about is, if I just add "Hostname or IP" from WHM and
    - don't run "After you have done this, if you would like to configure access from all users' accounts, Click Here. "
    OR
    - don't add the host from the cPanel account (contrary to the instruction in the above line)

    can't someone still access databases on my server, from the specified host? This is since that Host has already been white-listed from WHM!

    Thanks
    -----------------------
    Update: I tested this and Host/IP needs to be mentioned in cPanel account, and only after that remote host is allowed to access.

    cPanel - Is it reqd to have a setting like this? Could you please explain this with a use case for better understanding.

    As per my experience, I think cPanel believes in not having redundant steps or menu options (unlike other hosting panels that I have used :) ) and hence this step could be avoided, if there is no use case for such a setting.
     
    #1 sonijay, Feb 7, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2013
  2. sonijay

    sonijay Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    @cPanel - Do you have anything to share? Waiting for your reply. Thanks
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Not sure what sort of answer you're looking for here.

     
  4. sonijay

    sonijay Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey Infopro,

    I'm sorry, if my earlier post was confusing.

    Under WHM (Home » SQL Services » Additional MySQL Access Hosts), I can specify the IP address(es). But if I try accessing an MySQL db, from a remote host, after white-listing that host JUST in WHM, it doesn't work. Won't let you connect.

    There is an additional step needed, which is to mention the same IP in cPanel (Remote MySQL), and ONLY after this you will be able to connect.

    My question - shouldn't white-listing in root be applicable for all the accounts, by default? w/o even running the script - "if you would like to configure access from all users' accounts, Click Here." on WHM.

    Because I don't find any purpose to just set IPs under WHM, when it still doesn't allow access until cPanel has that IP listed.

    Thanks.
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Please feel free to open a ticket to cPanel support about this and speak with Technical Support who will be able to clarify all of this for you if needed.
     
  6. sonijay

    sonijay Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page