The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AddModule - missing from httpd.conf in EA3?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mtindor, Oct 17, 2007.

  1. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've have successfully compiled Apache 1.3 with PHP4 and PHP5, SuPHP, Frontpage, Mod_Security. However, now when I look in the httpd.conf I do not see any AddModule directives.

    In fact, I can't find AddModule directives anywhere. Apache appears to be working fine - but without the AddModule lines in httpd.conf, I'd like to know how this is working.

    Should there be AddModule lines in /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf in EA3?

    Below is a listing of an EA2 httpd.conf (Apache 1.3, PHP4, SuEXEC / phpSuEXEC, Frontpage, Mod_Security) and an EA3 httpd.conf (Apache 1.3, PHP4/PHP5, SuPHP, Frontpage, Mod_Security).

    EA2 system httpd.conf
    LoadModule rewrite_module libexec/mod_rewrite.so
    LoadModule expires_module libexec/mod_expires.so
    LoadModule bwlimited_module libexec/mod_bwlimited.so
    LoadModule bytes_log_module libexec/mod_log_bytes.so
    LoadModule auth_passthrough_module libexec/mod_auth_passthrough.so
    LoadModule security_module libexec/mod_security.so

    AddModule mod_env.c
    AddModule mod_log_config.c
    AddModule mod_mime.c
    AddModule mod_negotiation.c
    AddModule mod_status.c
    AddModule mod_include.c
    AddModule mod_autoindex.c
    AddModule mod_dir.c
    AddModule mod_cgi.c
    AddModule mod_asis.c
    AddModule mod_imap.c
    AddModule mod_actions.c
    AddModule mod_userdir.c
    AddModule mod_alias.c
    AddModule mod_rewrite.c
    AddModule mod_access.c
    AddModule mod_auth.c
    AddModule mod_expires.c
    AddModule mod_so.c
    AddModule mod_setenvif.c
    AddModule mod_ssl.c
    AddModule mod_frontpage.c
    AddModule mod_bwlimited.c
    AddModule mod_log_bytes.c
    AddModule mod_auth_passthrough.c
    AddModule mod_security.c

    EA3 System httpd.conf
    LoadModule security_module libexec/mod_security.so
    LoadModule auth_passthrough_module libexec/mod_auth_passthrough.so
    LoadModule bytes_log_module libexec/mod_log_bytes.so
    LoadModule bwlimited_module libexec/mod_bwlimited.so

    NO 'AddModule' lines

    Mike
     
    #1 mtindor, Oct 17, 2007
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2007
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    AddModule isn't needed unless one uses the ClearModuleList directive, which we no longer do.
     
  3. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Good deal. Thanks Kenneth.

    Mike
     
  4. fenixer

    fenixer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello......

    Since updated to last EA, I find mod_rewrite engine is not enabled by default for the virtualhosts, as by example Joomla sites configured, which does not have "rewriteengine on" added at .htaccess, fails when try to use mod_rewrite, when just before were running ok.

    IS there any way to enable rewriteengine at the same time for the entire group of virtualhosts, with a simple line or a few?
     
  5. web-project

    web-project Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am interested in this also, but seems to me no one replied on your question...:(
     
  6. web-project

    web-project Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    working here the following way:
    add to .thaccess
    Code:
    Options +FollowSymLinks
    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond % add here what you need
    RewriteRule (.*) add here what you need second line
    
     
  7. handsonhosting

    handsonhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you adding that to the individual users folders, or somewhere else?

    EA3 and the mod_rewrite is still causing issues for us :(
     
  8. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  9. Cyber-Surfer

    Cyber-Surfer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Problem adding custom module..

    We have a custom Apache 1.x module, that was working fine on our previous server with Apache 1.3.x on it. When we migrated to the new server, we attempted to rebuild it, and reinstall it. We've added the LoadModule line to the httpd.conf file, and the Rewrite engine rules to the appropriate sites, and when we do so, httpd -configtest says everything is ok.. But when we go to restart httpd in WHM, it fails to restart..

    We're sorta runing out of ideas as to why this is occuring.. Any help on what we're doing wrong, or where to look for any error messages we're not seeing in WHM, would be greatly appreciated.
     
  10. BubbaGum

    BubbaGum Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Western US
    This used to be working when used in a .htaccess file within an account:

    Options +FollowSymLinks
    RewriteEngine on

    however, it fails and generates an error for the complete site if "Options +FollowSymLinks" exists within the .htaccess file. If removed, then any conditionals and commands for rewrite are ignored completely.

    I've tried this on several new and old servers under 11.23.x and they all react the same to mod_rewrite commands in htaccess: completely ignored unless the options are included and then it's complete failure.

    Wondering how to include mod_rewrite in htaccess? It must something so simple that I cannot see it. I've read all the apache docs and forum posts I could find and they say to add in the commands, but something in cpanel's config must be blocking the use.
     
  11. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please explain your errors/failures in detail.
     
  12. BubbaGum

    BubbaGum Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Western US
    server 500 error.
     
  13. FreedomBI

    FreedomBI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The error message should be in the account's Apache error log.
     
  14. BubbaGum

    BubbaGum Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Western US
    if add it in so that .htaccess looks like (nothing else included in the file):

    Options +FollowSymlinks
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteRule ^link([^/]*).html$ rewrite.php?link=$1 [L]

    I get this type of error on every server:
    [Fri Aug 08 13:32:14 2008] [alert] [client xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx] /home/username/public_html/.htaccess: Illegal option RewriteEngine

    if I take out the options so the .htaccess looks like:

    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteRule ^link([^/]*).html$ rewrite.php?link=$1 [L]

    then it is ignored entirely, and generates a missing page error when supposedly rewriting the php page as html:

    [Fri Aug 08 13:35:54 2008] [error] [client xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx] File does not exist: /home/username/public_html/link2.html, referer: http://www.sitenamehere.com/rewrite.php?link=1

    Also, if I add this to .htaccess:
    XBitHack On

    I get this error:

    [Fri Aug 08 13:38:00 2008] [alert] [client xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx] /home/username/public_html/.htaccess: XBitHack takes one argument, Off, On, or Full

    Doesn't matter what I try in the rewrite rules, it fails completely with the options included or it can't find the page... many times just ignored completely. But .htaccess is working on other items such at restricting countries, access, etc. I've tried this onseveral servers that are current on CP. Many had CP 10.x and these same exact rules worked previously but do not now after upgrades of cpanel and apache. XBitHack worked previously as well.

    I get same results whether on apache 1.3.41 or the latest 2.2.x

    So the latest changes to include mod_rewrite by cpanel must have altered teh way to be able to use such things in .htaccess, maybe?
     
  15. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should open a support ticket for this.

    https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit/
     
  16. BubbaGum

    BubbaGum Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Western US
    no need on the support ticket. rebuilding apache with no setting changes on our end, after the recent cpanel and easy apache builder updates, fixed it back to original working order
     
Loading...

Share This Page