Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Addon domain limit -- 600 is too many?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Paintball Guns, Jul 31, 2008.

  1. Paintball Guns

    Paintball Guns Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I added 600 addon domains to an account. After the recent cPanel release was applied to the server, a number of problems arose. It seems having 600 addon domains is too many.

    Has anyone else had this problem? Is there a maximum number of addon domains recommended for a single cPanel user account?
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,563
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What problems did you experience?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Paintball Guns

    Paintball Guns Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    The addon domain entries were lost or corrupted about once a week when system updates were applied. As a result, cPanel didn't list all the addon domains that were added, and even those addon domains that were listed didn't always work.

    I am a user, not an admin, so I'm sorry about the non-technical explanation.
     
  4. Paintball Guns

    Paintball Guns Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    By the way, our current work-around is to bypass cPanel and manually create the alias.conf file ourselves.
     
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,563
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What does alias.conf have to do with an Addon domain? Is it a file used by Apache? Exim? ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice