The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Addon domain nightmare

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by phantom, Dec 27, 2003.

  1. phantom

    phantom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello,
    Due to circumstances beyond our control, we had to move all of our virtual clients over to new servers. Everything went ok however none of the addon domains got transferred.

    Please tell me there is a quick fix for this. There are a ton of addon domains that are not working. I tried to login to one of my clients accounts and re-add their addon domain but got errors saying that the domain already exists.

    If there is no quick fix for this, can someone please post any type of fix for this? I know it involves removing the addon domain entries from different files but I'm just not sure which ones.

    Thank you for your time.
     
  2. jphilipson

    jphilipson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    you have to remove the dns entries... if they are not in the whm list.. then do it from root in /var/named ..
     
  3. jphilipson

    jphilipson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Also, it may be one of the security features in tweak settings that are keeping the addon domains from showing ... they may still be there but will not show show. If you changed DNS, ips etc etc you have to wait for them to resolve again.
     
  4. phantom

    phantom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for the quick reply fellas. Is the named.conf the only place where the addon entries need to be removed? What about /etc/localdomains
    Should they be removed from there or does it matter?

    Thanks again.
     
  5. jphilipson

    jphilipson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    /var/named ... you would need to remove the db file ...
     
  6. JMusic

    JMusic Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How do you do that?
     
Loading...

Share This Page