The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Addon domain not working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by aarondwyer, Dec 10, 2007.

  1. aarondwyer

    aarondwyer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brisbane
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi all

    Need some help with this one, it's driving me nuts.

    A customer has added an addon domain but it's not working correctly.

    Go here and see that it jumps to the subdomain (that get created with the addon process) and can't show a simple test index.html that I've got in there.

    http://neurospine.com.au (doesn't work)

    http://neurospine.lolowiki.com (does work)

    1) The domain name is pointing to the right server.
    2) The addon domain has been correctly added in cpanel
    3) The /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf looks ok
    4) The DNS record on the server for the domain is all ok
    5) It's been over 48 hours since the nameservers were changed

    IE gives a 404 error, and Firefox redirects and a 404 error


    I've checked the /etc/httpd/logs/error_log

    [Tue Dec 11 07:35:26 2007] [error] [client 210.49.69.86] File does not exist: /home/lolowiki/public_html/neurospine/public_html/neurospine/
    [Tue Dec 11 07:35:26 2007] [error] [client 210.49.69.86] File does not exist: /home/lolowiki/public_html/neurospine/404.shtml


    You can see that the directory it's looking for is replicated and hence doesn't exist.

    Where does cPanel record this information?? It's not in the httpd.conf file.

    There must be some other config file that I need to check.


    Thanks
    Aaron
     
    #1 aarondwyer, Dec 10, 2007
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2007
  2. david510

    david510 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Add the following line in the virtualhost section of neurospine.com.au inside httpd.conf file and restart apache.

    UseCanonicalName Off
     
  3. aarondwyer

    aarondwyer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brisbane
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Thanks for that.

    I should have posted this earlier, this is from my /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf

    This is also in the apache httpd.conf and all looks ok to me based on checking other httpd.conf records.

    Code:
    <VirtualHost 122.201.82.8>
    ServerAlias www.neurospine.lolowiki.com
    ServerAdmin webmaster@neurospine.lolowiki.com
    DocumentRoot /home/lolowiki/public_html/neurospine
    BytesLog domlogs/neurospine.lolowiki.com-bytes_log
    ServerName neurospine.lolowiki.com
    ServerAlias neurospine.com.au www.neurospine.com.au
    UseCanonicalName off
    
    <IfModule mod_userdir.c>
      Userdir disabled
      Userdir enabled lolowiki
    </IfModule>
    
    <IfModule mod_php4.c>
      php_admin_value open_basedir "/home/lolowiki:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php:/tmp"
    </IfModule>
    <IfModule mod_php5.c>
      php_admin_value open_basedir "/home/lolowiki:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php:/tmp"
    </IfModule>
    
    User lolowiki
    Group lolowiki
    CustomLog /usr/local/apache/domlogs/neurospine.lolowiki.com combined
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/lolowiki/public_html/neurospine/cgi-bin/
    </VirtualHost>

    My main concern is that I think there is some redirecting going on.

    Check out the double up directory that was in the error log

    /home/lolowiki/public_html/neurospine/public_html/neurospine/

    Are there any places in cPanel config files that handle redirection?

    There are no .htaccess files in the account.

    Thanks
    Aaron
     
  4. aarondwyer

    aarondwyer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brisbane
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This has been resolved.

    I found a .htaccess file in the root of the account outside of the public_html directory that mod rewrites on the domain.

    Why cpanel put it there is a mystery to me but after removing it, the domain is now working correctly.

    Thanks
    Aaron
     
Loading...

Share This Page