The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Addon domain says already exists when it doesn't

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fog, Oct 28, 2003.

  1. fog

    fog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have checked over and over and there is no dns entry for the domain or anything, When I try to add it it says it's in use by another user. How do I resolve this?
     
  2. Phiber_Optick

    Phiber_Optick Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Florida
    In your WHM, in "Tweak Setting". Do you have a check in "Allow Creation of Parked/Addon Domains that resolve to other servers (ie domain transfers) [This can be a major security problem. If you must have it enabled, be sure to not allow users to park common internet domains.]" or "Allow Creation of Parked/Addon Domains that are not registered"?


    If you do not, and this domain is not currently pointing at your cpanel server, then it will not let you. If you check those, then you are able to add domains to cpanel that either are not registered or have their domain pointing to other name servers.
     
  3. fog

    fog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I do have that checked. I just did a locate domain.com from shell and I can see several mentions of the domain althought it isn't in the cpanel of the path it is mentioned in nor does it have a dns zone. How do I clean it out so I can add it.

    I am assuming that since this account was moved from another machine using the whm tool some mentions of the domain remained though it was removed before the move.
     
  4. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Did you find a resolution to this?
     
  5. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    When users delete a domain in Cpanel it leaves the .db files in the secondary/tertiary nameservers. You have to manually remove these in the nameservers then /scripts/dnstransfer to clear it out.

    Does dig show the domain on your servers locally?
     
  6. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Very nice! This is exactly what I have been looking for all day.

    Thank you kris!


     
  7. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hmmmm email to this domain is bouncing...

    550-not permitted to relay through this server
     
  8. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    /scripts/fixpop

    Cannot find the owner of x.com, try rebuilding /etc/userdomains first with /scripts/rebuilduserdomains at /scripts/fixpop line 26.

    rebuilduserdomains does not exist.


    Running rebuildparkeddomains...

    /scripts/rebuildparkeddomains
    panic: end_shift at /scripts/rebuildparkeddomains line 19.
     
  9. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Corrected with /etc/named.conf entries
     
  10. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    AND ran Rebuilding Mail Databases and Fixing Permissions from WHM. :)

     
Loading...

Share This Page