The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Addon domain site update

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Francesc, Sep 3, 2015.

  1. Francesc

    Francesc Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Barcelona
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi everyone,

    We are about to update our ecommerce, currently installed in a cpanel addon domain (eg: 'site.com'). In order to minimize downtime, we are thinking about this method:

    1) Create a new folder ('newsite') inside the main domain (as it was a new addon domain, but without creating it).

    2) Install the new site in this folder, and make all the necessary updates. In order to access the site and test it, we would have to do it through the main domain: 'maindomain.com/newsite'

    3) Once everything is ready, just rename folders: 'site.com' becomes 'site.old', and 'newsite' would become 'site.com'. Of course we would have to modify the required ecommerce config files in order to point to the new folder.

    4) So if this works, there is no need to move files and mess with addon domains creation/removal.

    Can anyone confirm this makes sense? Any other consideration that we need to take into account?

    Thanks!
     
  2. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    To confirm, you want to do the following:

    1. in /home/{username}/public_html/, create a new folder called "newsite"
    2. Install the new ecommerce platform within the newsite folder
    3. Test the new platform under domain.com/newsite
    4. Move the new site to subdomain.domain.com which already exists
    This sounds okay, however, my personal opinion rather than moving files would be to copy. In Filemanager, click on the subdomain folder and click copy. Select where to copy it to. Then delete everything in the subdomain folder and again, copy everything in to it.

    I personally wouldn't feel comfortable completely renaming/deleting the folder in which my subdomain files should reside.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You could also change the document root of the addon domain name instead of moving directory locations. You can do this via "cPanel >> Addon Domains".

    Thank you.
     
  4. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I completely forgot about that option! So many features in cPanel, you lose track!

    @Francesc I recommend @cPanelMichael's suggestion.
     
  5. Francesc

    Francesc Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Barcelona
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Great, thank you both for your help.
     
Loading...

Share This Page