The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

addon domains causing me trouble

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by james2004, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. james2004

    james2004 Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ive had this with my tech support for 3 days and they have not made any progress, they tell me that they think its a cpanel issue but cant get to the bottom of it and they are continuing to look, I wondered if anyone here could help.

    I have a main site:

    www.mainsite.com

    and an addon domain hosted in the same place

    www.addon.com | addon communication


    The nameservers are all pointing the to same host as you would expect but when ever I visit www.addon.com | addon communication I am redirected to

    http://www.mainsite.com/addon.com/

    Which isnt perfect as people can see the first site and also it makes the addon site look like an add on.

    Has anyone any experiance of how I might fix this?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You might check your .htaccess file for issues.
     
  3. james2004

    james2004 Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks, I have heard this in a couple of places so tried to make some changes. I deleted the htaccess in the addon domain and still have the same issue, as someone who is not too technical on this type of thing after I saw it didnt fix things I put the old file back from backup.

    Would the htaccess causing the issue be the one in the addon domain or the main domain or could it be any of them

    Thanks for the support its appreciated
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Depending on it's contents it could be either one. I would peek at both to help narrow down that this is not the problem. If neither is at fault, you might ask your support for support, or put in a ticket to cPanel tech for assistance. Link for that, top right corner of every page on this site.

    GL!
     
Loading...

Share This Page