The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Addon domains in custom folder

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SilviuB, Apr 28, 2009.

  1. SilviuB

    SilviuB Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello!

    I have a little problem. My host offers me cPanel 11 with the X Theme and i need some help with the addon domain section.

    This is the Addon domain section in cPanel 11 X3 Theme:
    [​IMG]

    And this is in cPanel 11 X Theme:
    [​IMG]

    With the X3 i can put the addon domains in a folder that's in another folder, i can use a diffrent name for the folder and a diffrent name for the ftp username. With the X Theme i can't do all this things.

    I really want to know how to put the domains in a custom folder that's in another folder, just like with the X3 Theme or to put them in folders with custom names.

    Also i have the same problem with subdomains. If i have mydomain1.com and mydomain2.com and then creat forum.mydomain1.com and forum.mydomain2.com ... both subdomains point in a folder named forum that's in my public_html, the folder that's generated auto.

    Please help.
     
    #1 SilviuB, Apr 28, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2009
  2. JawadArshad

    JawadArshad Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I am not sure why they offer the X theme only. You can try putting a support request and maybe they can change the theme for you. There doesn't appear to be a reason why they would be reluctant. In X theme, i don't think there is a way you can create addons in custom folders unless you ask your host's support to manually edit the cPanel's userdata files in /var/cpanel/userdata/user and do this for you.
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There are some hosting providers that have custom scripts that pre-date our XML API and thus rely on use of a specific theme.

    To the original poster: if your hosting provider is in this situation, feel welcome to have them contact me over at sales@cpanel.net so I can assist them with migrating to our APIs.

    Use of the x theme for cPanel is discouraged as it is no longer maintained and will become fully deprecated by version 12.
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This functionality is not available in the X theme. Also the X theme is no longer maintained by cPanel.
     
  5. SilviuB

    SilviuB Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thankyou for posting.

    The host i'm talking about is LunarPages. I tried and tried but they still say no.

    I don't want to give up my hosting account only for a stupid theme.
     
  6. pixie.027

    pixie.027 Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi there!

    i have the same problem. i have two domain names. both registered with namecheap, then pointed to FloatHosting. i have not done any work on my original domain, however, the second addon domain needs to be finished like yesterday, and everything works perfectly except for the fact that it shows up under the main domain name. :confused: how can i fix this? i have been in contact with FloatHosting support, however they have not replied or helped me with this issue. is there anything i can do to make it work? any help would greatly be appreciated.

    thank you! nina
     
  7. pixie.027

    pixie.027 Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    OH MY WORD> i got it to work.. now i feel really dumb :(
    thanks anyways!
     
Loading...

Share This Page