The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Addon domains not reading index.htm or .html or any index files

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Chew, Sep 17, 2006.

  1. Chew

    Chew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Well I've never seen this one before, but for some reason, addon domains aren't reading the index files customers upload to them.

    However regular websites are working just fine.

    Happens on any addon domain.

    Anyone have any ideas on what I can check to resolve this issue?

    Thanks,
    Matt
     
  2. rootsupport

    rootsupport Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    You can check the .htaccess file for DirectoryIndex
     
  3. Chew

    Chew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    But I shouldn't need to check that it's in the .htaccess file.

    It should automatically pick up on an index file and show it by default when browsing a dir.

    It would be insane to try and keep up with who adds an addon domain and make sure that it's in there. And what if they overwrite it?

    There's got to be a better way.

    Matt
     
  4. Chew

    Chew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    /bump

    Anyone have any ideas?
     
  5. biggdogg285

    biggdogg285 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have this problem too, so I'm also wondering if anyone has any ideas that would help us resolve this problem...

    Thanks!
     
  6. vincentg

    vincentg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    new york
    This has something to do with mod_dir.c I believe

    Seems that they changed the way apache creates the httpd.conf file

    Prior to this it was working and the index settings was done as such

    <IfModule mod_dir.c>
    DirectoryIndex index.html index.wml index.cgi index.shtml index.jsp --- and so on
    </IfModule>

    Now we see only

    DirectoryIndex index.html index.wml index.cgi index.shtml index.jsp --- and so on

    And mod_dir.c is not used at all - I don't see it anywhere in httpd.conf
    UseCanonicalName On was also the default and now it's off??

    Unless there is some other place where this line is added:

    AddModule mod_dir.c

    I think it was a mistake to leave it out of httpd.conf
     
Loading...

Share This Page