The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

addon domains problems help me

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by silvernetuk, Aug 26, 2003.

  1. silvernetuk

    silvernetuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    To cut a long story short one of my client 1 lent a domain to a friend who also a client 2 they have fallen out and the client want the domain back, so I got all the details etc...

    Logged into the clients 2 cpanel to delete the addon domain did that, deleted the dns record then went to add it to client one cpanel and I get this error

    Addon Domain Addition:

    The subdomain, pantha.domain.me.uk has been added.
    addon-domain.org is controlled by another user. You cannot park it.
    The subdomain, pantha.domain.me.uk has been removed.

    addon-domain.org could not be setup. The subdomain pantha.domain.me.uk was not setup either.

    So I checked the httpd.conf nothing in there about the domain, so what do I do WHM and CPanel think it still being used by client 2

    Any help ?

    Regards,
    Garry

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. silvernetuk

    silvernetuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Also I just found the addon-domain.org in /etc/localdomains do I just remove it and save it ?

    Also there look to be files in /etc/valiases/ which I understand is the email settings

    Regards,
    Garry

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. sfield

    sfield Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Gary,

    Did you figure out what was causing this problem. I am having the same problem, the domain was an account, then the user deleted the account and tried to set it up as an addon domain instead.

    I have checked, there is no DNS zone in WHM for it, it is not in httpd.conf .

    Any input.

    Thanks :D

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. sfield

    sfield Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The domain was still listed in /var/cpanel/users/reselleruser

    Should it not be deleted from there when the account was deleted.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. servmin

    servmin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm having the same problem described in this thread. I had a domain setup as its own account in WHM. Then I deleted it and tried to set that same domain up as an "add on" domain under an existing account.

    Cpanel won't let me because it says another user owns it already.

    I have looked in all the places mentioned in this thread and deleted references to the domain. But I still get the same error message.

    I'm using:
    WHM 9.2.0 cPanel 9.2.0-S25
    RedHat Enterprise 3 - WHM X v2.1.2

    Thanks
     
  6. amal

    amal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Problem removing addon domain

    Hey,

    I'm also having a similar issue.

    I'm not able to remove an addon domain. I'm getting the error - Sorry, you do not control the domain.
    I checked /etc/userdomains as well as httpd.conf. The usernames are specified correctly on both places.

    If anyone got this fixed, please update it in the forums.
     
  7. eNiNjA

    eNiNjA Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i am also getting a similar error trying to remove an addon domain from an account.

    using cPanel 9.4.1-R55
     
  8. amal

    amal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yippieee, got it fixed. :)

    Hey,

    I got it fixed. :)

    The entry for the addon domain was missing in the /var/cpanel/users/$username.

    There should be an entry like

    DNS2=$addondomain

    where $username is the username that you are having problem with

    and $ addondomain is the addondomain name that you are having problem with.

    You should use the DNS which is not already used in the file. ie, if DNS2 is already used in the same file, you should use DNS3.

    Hope, your issue is sorted out as well. :)

    Regards,
    Amal.
     
Loading...

Share This Page