The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AddOn Domains

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fwwebs, Jun 26, 2004.

  1. fwwebs

    fwwebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When trying to add an addon domain using cpanel, I receive an error something like 'Unable to determine IP of name server for domain". It doesn't create the account. The nameservers are correct and working, the domain has resolved, and it's an .com.country domain. Is this a cpanel glitch?
     
  2. BLazeD

    BLazeD Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Has it resolved for the server location as well, or just you?
     
  3. fwwebs

    fwwebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's possible, but it's been several days. I was able to park it on the subdomain, which essentially created an addon domain in the account, and the domain responds from various locations.
     
  4. bouncer

    bouncer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    :) Is this a .com.au domain by any chance?
     
  5. fwwebs

    fwwebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  6. bouncer

    bouncer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    With the new Australian domain system, any server which acts as a nameserver for a .au domain must be registered as a host.

    The creation of hosts was introduced to reduce the number of nameservers and IP addresses recorded because many are never used as nameservers and simply waist system resources.

    So in short you will need to register the nameservers you are using with whom ever the .com.au is registered with. It is a free service or should be.
     
  7. fwwebs

    fwwebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for the reply.
     
Loading...

Share This Page