The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advanced install, I need to make an exact copy of a cPanel server, but how to do the MySQL version?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nick57, Feb 1, 2014.

  1. Nick57

    Nick57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I need to make exact copy of existing server which I need to move to a different GuestOS.

    Prior installer starts I can put some config files up on the new server which will then be used by the cPanel installer.

    I have found a few configuration files in how to make sure most things are done when installing the new cPanel.
    But not found how to make sure the new cPanel install will use my preferred MySQL version instead of installing the latest and greatest one....

    I have this so far, I understand these files will be used by the first install of the cPanel.

    /etc/cp_easyapache_profile.yaml
    /etc/cpupdate.conf
    /root/cpanel_profile/cpanel.conf
    /var/cpanel/easy/apache/prefs.yaml

    any help or suggests are very welcome.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Re: Advanced install, I need to make an exact copy of a cPanel server, but how to do the MySQL versi

    Hello :)

    The following document should be of help to you:

    Advanced Options: Pre-Installation

    In particular, here is a value you would use in /root/cpanel_profile/cpanel.config if you wanted to ensure MySQL version 5.5 was installed on all new installations:

    mysql-version=5.5

    Thank you.
     
  3. Nick57

    Nick57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Re: Advanced install, I need to make an exact copy of a cPanel server, but how to do the MySQL versi

    Thanks, that works, but all the other settings in /root/cpanel_profile/cpanel.conf seems to be outdated as only a few did work actually :-(
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Re: Advanced install, I need to make an exact copy of a cPanel server, but how to do the MySQL versi

    Could you elaborate on which specific parameters are not configured correctly after the installation?

    Thank you.
     
  5. Nick57

    Nick57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Re: Advanced install, I need to make an exact copy of a cPanel server, but how to do the MySQL versi

    Sure,

    From this file the mysql setting did work, which was my main worry so I was pleased with that.
    I had to go through all settings as your list is not complete, perhaps some settings are related to other settings.
    But on your website is shows the default settings so I have only listed the ones I wanted to have changed.

    mysql-version=5.1
    allowcpsslinstall=0
    alwaysredirecttossl=1
    email_account_quota_userdefined_default_value=50
    email_account_quota_default_selected=userdefined
    email_send_limits_count_mailman=1
    emailusersbandwidthexceed=1
    emailusersbandwidthexceed90=1
    emailusersbandwidthexceed98=1
    jaildefaultshell=1
    php_post_max_size=75
    php_upload_max_filesize=75
    phploader=ioncube
    maxemailsperhour=250
    allowparkonothers=0
    blockcommondomains=1
    autocreateaentries=0
    skipneomail=1
    skipsqmail=1
    skipwebalizer=1
    skipspamassassin=1
    skipwebalizer=1
    skipanalog=1
    resetpass=0
    skipnotifyacctbackupfailure=1
    cpaddons_notify_users=always
     
  6. Nick57

    Nick57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Re: Advanced install, I need to make an exact copy of a cPanel server, but how to do the MySQL versi

    None of these settings worked, the mysql installed is 5.5, this is a problem, i need to have it 5.1.
    I discovered it after moving an account.

    * Edit, I think I found the problem, the editor I used didn't create new rows, so all these settings where on 1 row. I need to get an editor for windows environment, this is the problem maker.
    Normally I use vi..... Sorry about that.
     
    #6 Nick57, Feb 4, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2014
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Re: Advanced install, I need to make an exact copy of a cPanel server, but how to do the MySQL versi

    Thank you for updating us with the outcome. I am happy to see that it's now working as intended.
     
Loading...

Share This Page