The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice Needed: I Got a new CPanel Server - How to Prepare/Optimize for Hosting?

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by hostgirl, Apr 3, 2006.

1. hostgirl

hostgirl Member

I am new to CPanel and just got a CPanel server setup. I would like to know

1) what all steps i need to perform before i begin hosting my customers on it?

2) My customers mainly use chi, php, and mysql hosting.

3) I have to move around 100 customer from a non-Cpanel server to this cpanel server. How do i do it? Do i need to create each domain, mailboxes and mysql accounts manually?

4) Is there going to be any other issue when moving domains from a standard non control panel Linux server to the CPanel server? I understand the php/cgi paths would change, is there anything else i need to take care of?

5) Any other advice you might want to give to a Cpanel newbie on how to optimize and secure this Cpanel server?

Many thanks!

2. madaboutlinux

madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

1) Setup the Hostname, Add ip addressess and Nameservers. Also go through the following options :-
    Server Configuration >> Basic WHM/Cpanel Setup.
    Server Configuration >> Tweak Settings
    Security >> Tweak Security.
    For more info about these options you can refer :- http://www.cpanel.net/docs/whm/

2) No problems with it. Cpanel provides it.
    /scripts/mysqlup --force << To install Mysql.
    /scripts/easyapache << Execute it and compile with php.

3) From which server(control panel) you are trying to move ? I guess there is options in WHM to move accounts from servers having different control panels.

4) Depends on the previous control panel.