The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

After transfer problems

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bonbonbon, Apr 14, 2015.

  1. bonbonbon

    bonbonbon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Poland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey,

    Figured I'd ask here as well, as maybe someone had a similar problem.

    I have transferred couple accounts yesterday. The transfer went without any errors or warnings, but after checking out whether the sites are working properly, some of them are not. There are a lot of script-related errors. It worked just fine on the other server. One of the "fixes", which isn't really a fix, was simply to hide the error reporting. It's not a fix that satisfies me.
    An other fix was to turn on output buffering option in php.ini, but that didn't help either.

    The php versions are the same, the sites in question use joomla or wordpress.

    Sample of an error:
    Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/dozymetr/public_html/plugins/content/mgthumbnails/mgthumbnails.php on line 256

    I tried the various solutions on the net, but to no avail.

    Any idea what might be the problem?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    That is the fix for many out of date, older scripts, going back years. For example:
    forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?t=618315
     
  3. bonbonbon

    bonbonbon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Poland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Okay, thanks for the answer.

    But how come it worked properly before transfer? The servers don't differ that much.
     
  4. madmanmachines

    madmanmachines Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Exactly how do they differ? In PHP version? That would be enough to cause this. What is the error_reporting on the source server compared to the destination server?
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

    PHP version, as the thread I linked you to (from back in 2012) mentions many times. :)
     
  6. bonbonbon

    bonbonbon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Poland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It might be PHP version after all. I checked it before on both servers and it was PHP 5.4 in the configuration.
    I assumed both servers were running the same version, but it differs a bit. "Old" server runs PHP version 5.4.20, "new" server runs PHP version 5.4.39. I guess it's enough to break it?

    The error reporting is nearly the same:
    server old: error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_DEPRECATED
    server new: error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_DEPRECATED & ~E_STRICT
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
Loading...

Share This Page