The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

after upcp --force found some error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sahid, Jan 16, 2011.

  1. sahid

    sahid Registered

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've just installed cpanel, and do upcp --force but there is an error
    after it finished:
    i do also reinstall modperl but nothing happen, & stil same error after upcp --force,
    is there any problem same with me, or maybe broken cPanel mirror list?

    thank you
    br
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello sahid,

    Please provide the output for the following:

    Code:
    ls -lah /usr/bin/perl /usr/local/bin/perl
    What I'm looking to see is whether /usr/local/bin/perl contains the perl binary and whether /usr/bin/perl is symlinked to /usr/local/bin/perl as that is how it should be setup. If it is not and you either have two perl binaries OR you have /usr/local/bin/perl as a symlink to /usr/bin/perl, you would want to make the binary in /usr/local/bin/perl and symlink /usr/bin/perl to it.

    Also, can you please try the following in case the /scripts directory did not properly sync when installing cPanel:

    Code:
    wget -O /root/updatenow.static http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/scripts/updatenow.static && perl /root/updatenow.static --manual
    /scripts/upcp
    This is if you are using RELEASE on the cPanel machine, which is likely if this is a new installation as that is the default version.
     
  3. Silent Ninja

    Silent Ninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    I've had this same issue, and I've noticed that it happened because I was using the legacy installer, located in: http://layer1.cpanel.net/latest

    And you seem to have moved it here: http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/latest

    Please delete the legacy installer or make a redirection, because "there can be only one".

    I've pretty much ended with a non-working cPanel install, I'm hoping that the new latest fixes my broken install.
     
    #3 Silent Ninja, Jun 6, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2011
  4. NightRider

    NightRider Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    same was on my side, used old installer...
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When I downloaded both installers, both on diff show the exact same contents. What was the difference precisely? layer1.cpanel.net and httpupdate.cpanel.net are mirror locations of each other.

    If you have a copy of the file you downloaded from layer1.cpanel.net, please post it so I can compare to the one I obtained from httpupdate.cpanel.net as I do not see any difference in either file.

    Of note, if you run the installer before you have licensed the IP for cPanel, you will end up with an installation that is incomplete due to the fact the installer checks for a valid cPanel license and doesn't install all the perl modules needed to run cPanel (case 50391, backport case 50593). Your installation can also end up with a blank MySQL password (50385) and without any /etc/init.d/cpanel file to start cPanel (case 50301, backport 50593 as well). If this is the case, it wasn't the installer selected but the IP not having been licensed prior to starting the installation. The way to resolve is to license the IP, then re-run the full installation again.
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Case 50593 has been resolved in 11.30.0.30. To see if this version has propagated to your update tier yet, visit: Downloads - cPanel Inc.
     
  7. twhiting9275

    twhiting9275 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
     
  8. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As I stated:

    Please post the contents of the file you've downloaded with the link you used for the download that obtained that file. I cannot find any differences in both copies that I downloaded.
     
Loading...

Share This Page