The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

after update no dns zones are created or found

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by apogee, Aug 30, 2006.

  1. apogee

    apogee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    hello,

    today I updated one of our servers, now if we create a new account no dns zone are added (no entry in /etc/named.conf created).

    if I go to whm under DNS and see in "Edit DNS Zone" no zones are listed, so I tried to remove my dns servers our from the dns cluster system and re-add it but with no luck :(

    I run WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.8.2-R119 on fedora 4, before we run the update the dns stuff works right.

    what can I do here? I've absolutely no idea whats wrong with the system and why the "Dns Zone Editor" shows no dns zones (the entrys still exist in /etc/named.conf and the zone files also exists under /var/named (I use external dns servers)) :rolleyes:

    If I enter a domain which is hosted on this server in the Dns Zone Editor (under Choose a Zone to Edit) the editor shows an empty zonefile with no data

    any idea?
     
  2. websupport

    websupport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Try installing bind-libs

    Paste 10 lines from /var/log/messages

    Or if you get named failed error message then run following command on shel prompt
    Command:- yum update bind-libs

    This is Cpanel error while updating cpanel. Cpanel can not able to update bind-libs. So we need to update it manually.

    :)
     
  3. apogee

    apogee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    if got no named errors because named don't runs on this server, /var/log/messages is full with crap

    it seams that whm simply don't read the named.conf and also make no adds if an account are created, no idea why
     
  4. websupport

    websupport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Repair named.conf

    Try out the script :
    · fixndc - Repair red hat’s broken named.conf

    :)
     
  5. apogee

    apogee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    thanks but we don't run named on this server, I testet it any way, as I expected, with no results :(

    I've no idea why the update brokes this system, every cpanel update brakes something on every server but till now we are able to fix it, but not with this bug because I don't know what the problem is
     
    #5 apogee, Aug 30, 2006
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2006
  6. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    This happened to me this morning as well. This was my fix...

    I am on centos 3.5

    after updates, bind would not start so I updated the library

    yum upgrade bind-libs

    After this, bind fired up fine but no zones loaded.
    I then got my zones list from my nightly backup files, added the zones to the current named.conf and then reenabled the nameserver via whm "nameserversetup"

    everthing fired up fine.
     
  7. apogee

    apogee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    ok just for fun I've started named on localhost and re-add the external dns server.... still the same issue....
     
  8. apogee

    apogee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I just wanna let u know that I've fixed the problem with the dns zones :cool:

    my way to the solution:
    1. remove the whole dns stuff (all files)
    2. update cpanel to WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-C4
    3. Setup again dns
    4. copying over the old backup files
    5. restart and it runns
     
  9. noorolhoda

    noorolhoda Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello
    If your problem didn,t solve do the following commands:

    /scripts/perlinstaller Compress::Raw::Zlib
    /scripts/perlinstaller --force Scalar::Util
     
  10. niccell

    niccell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just got an email from our Hosting Data Center informing us of this very fix.

    HOWEVER

    They also instructed us to:

    I'm not saying it's the way to do it (I'm pretty much a newbie), but it looks like the post(s) that come from this thread/lead from it are omitting this piece of information.
     
  11. chilihost

    chilihost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i just experienced the same problem and the perlinstaller fix worked for me, &i have had to recreate my 5 new domains.

    thanks for the heads up on the fix, cPanel people please check into this!!!
     
  12. mahinder

    mahinder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    matrix
    I just got new server installed with cpanel. actually the server hard drive went bad and this is os restore. after i create new domain or restore any account on server dns zones are not created.

    if i click on Configure Cluster or setup remote server key it doesn't work.

    also when i click edit a dns zone no dns zones are shown.

    after creating new accounts i noticed that no dns zones are created in /var/named folder and also no dns zone entries are made in /etc/named.conf

    i have updated Compress::Raw::Zlib,Scalar::Util and Net::SSLeay on server as suggested on cpanel forums but then also nothing works.

    please help i am in major trouble.
     
  13. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ah ha this works, I tried to install through WHM and it didn't thanks!
     
  14. msasek

    msasek Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Adding dns record without deleting accounts

    I also recently had this issue and the fix for updating the perl modules worked for me.

    I had a lot of accounts that had a lot of data in them that needed their dns records added after the above fix, and I did not want to remove and recreate all the accounts, as this would have taken a very long time.

    Luckily there is a feature in WHM (version 11 for me) that allows you to create dns records for cpanel accounts on the server. So, I just selected the accounts that were missing dns records, then had whm automatically create records for them. This could save some of you with the same problem a lot of extra work. It only took minutes to have whm create the dns records.
     
  15. omenix

    omenix Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    /dev/null
    I got this error when trying to update:

    Going to read /home/.cpan/sources/modules/03modlist.data.gz
    ............................................................................DONE
    Going to write /home/.cpan/Metadata
    Running install for module 'Compress::Raw::Zlib'
    Running make for P/PM/PMQS/Compress-Raw-Zlib-2.004.tar.gz
    CPAN: LWP::UserAgent loaded ok (v2.033)
    CPAN: Time::HiRes loaded ok (v1.86)
    Fetching with LWP:
    http://cpan-du.viaverio.com/authors/id/P/PM/PMQS/Compress-Raw-Zlib-2.004.tar.gz
    CPAN: YAML loaded ok (v0.62)
    CPAN: Digest::SHA loaded ok (v5.44)
    Fetching with LWP:
    http://cpan-du.viaverio.com/authors/id/P/PM/PMQS/CHECKSUMS
    Undefined subroutine &Compress::Zlib::gzopen called at /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.8/CPAN/Tarzip.pm line 103.
     
  16. bubby

    bubby Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I was stuck at the same place i did this

    Tailed /usr/local/cpanel/errorlog
    found that perl script ws not working >then ir an
    /scripts/perlinstaller Zlib.pm

    then run /scripts/perlinstaller Compress::Raw::Zlib

    then run /scripts/perlinstaller --force Scalar::Util

    It worked for me
     
  17. bubby

    bubby Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    d I was stuck at the same place i did this
    Tailed /usr/local/cpanel/errorlog
    found that perl script ws not working >then ir an
    /scripts/perlinstaller Zlib.pm

    then run /scripts/perlinstaller Compress::Raw::Zlib

    then run /scripts/perlinstaller --force Scalar::Util

    It worked for me
     
  18. Galactica

    Galactica Registered

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Still no luck

    I ran the previously mentioned Perl commands, and upon recreating the account. the DNS zones are still missing. And further ideas?
     
  19. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  20. johbar

    johbar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you!

    Chaps, you rock!

    This works, fully!
     
Loading...

Share This Page