The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AIM Contact.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ramphex, Aug 26, 2004.

  1. Ramphex

    Ramphex Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Does anyone have an idea why my server doesn't contact me by AIM? I put a screen name for it and a password and my screen name to contact me on and it doesn't contact me. How can I fix that?
     
  2. Ramphex

    Ramphex Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Come on, why doesn't anyone help? Isn't this CPANEL FORUMS????!?!?!!
     
  3. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    that feature has never worked right

    one sever never contacts and the other contacts me on the worong aim
     
  4. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    If it isn't working right, you should put in a bug report (or search for existing reports and contribute). We do not use AIM as a contact method, so I have no idea if the feature works.
     
  5. Ramphex

    Ramphex Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It used to work perfectly in 7.x.x Why won't it work now?
     
  6. KnyghtMare

    KnyghtMare Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have the same problem and some more related problems. Nothing in the contact manager seems to actually work. I don't get notified of any account creations/deletions... anything. Not by AIM, ICQ, Pager or Email.
     
  7. Izkabola

    Izkabola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Works fine for me on all of them. Make sure you are using the latest stable build and you should be fine.
     
  8. claven177

    claven177 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Taipei
  9. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Same Problem

    Same Problem. I get e-mail notifications fine. But ICQ has never worked, and AIM used to work but at some point got broken again.

    I've opened a ticket with cPanel, but all he is doing is telling me I have to open up outbound ports that are used for AIM and ICQ. I'm not convinced this is the problem, but I will research.

    For those of you that have AIM and/or ICQ notifications working, did you have to do any sort of firewall changes inbound or outbound to get it to work?

    - Scott
     
  10. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Actually, my research into this issue indicates that the problem lies with the AIM servers. It looks like the servers have disabled the TOC protocol (please correct me if I'm wrong, and clue me in). The new builds now support the OSCAR protocol (Net::OSCAR), and it's now working for me once again. However, ICQ using Net::OSCAR was spotty at best for me.
     
  11. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Ben. From looking at /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/bin/sendaim, I see:

    <snip>
    use Net::AIM;

    $aim = new Net::AIM;
    $aim->newconn(Screenname => $user,
    Password => $pass);
    my $conn = $aim->getconn();
    <snip>

    So... Can I simply just edit this to say Net::OSCAR or what? I'm on the latest Current (as of last night) 10.8.0-C13.

    - Scott
     
    #11 sneader, Sep 19, 2005
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2005
  12. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This will be resolved in the next builds (most likely tommorrow). We're actually using /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/iContact.pm now (which uses Net::OSCAR).
     
  13. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For fun, I edited /sendaim to use Net::OSCAR. No luck... same exact problem:

    root@www3 [/etc]# /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/bin/sendaim BUDDYNAME test
    PARSE: how many args in '2'?
    Alarm clock
    root@www3 [/etc]#

    I guess I'll wait a few days and see if it doesn't start working again with the work you guys are doing. FYI, the last time this has worked for me was April 30, 2005.

    - Scott
     
  14. internetfab

    internetfab Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Tried the ICQ notification.. changed icq to mode 3 to get all notifications. Created a new user (added it to my list) and typed all data in in WHM to get it to work.

    Opened up egress and ingress TCP ports 5190 for client -> server icq connections.

    Created a new account to test it:

    Code:
    Notifcation => xxxxxx via UIN [level => 3]
    Still havent gotten anything..

    Anyone gotten it to work?
     
  15. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    i figured since a cpanel admin was in here, I'd also mention i have everything set to "not notify" me except potential problems:

    Apache Max Clients Check
    Disk Integrity Check
    Ip Address Dns Check
    Kernel Crash Check
    Kernel Version Check
    Trojan Horse/File Modification Check

    And I would like all these to go to my "pager" which is simply an email address on my PDA. obviously i would want to know about these sort of things as soon as they were detected.

    but for some reason, WHM finds it necessary to text me every time ANY random event occurs.

    i was just hit with an email script upload and upgrade warning by two separate machines, that have these notifications specifically disabled.
     
Loading...

Share This Page