The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Allow users to change their web statistics. But how???

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jols, Oct 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    In WHM I have these items selected in Statistics Software Configuration:

    Allow users to change their web statistics generating software.

    Allow the following statistics generating programs to run.
    Webalizer
    AwStats
    Urchin

    Allow all users to change their web statistics generating software.

    Run the following generators by default. (Until modified by the user)
    AwStats



    BUT, there is no area in the vsite's cPanel to enable Webalizer, etc. i.e. there is NO area in their cPanel to "change their web statistics generating software".

    What am I missing here? Do I need to re-install Pro or something?

    Thanks much!
     
  2. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
  3. rfws03

    rfws03 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeah, I have the same problem - it's been reported as a bug already, BugZilla #3189. Hopefully they'll fix it shortly - really looking forward to being able to use this feature on our servers, it will be incredibly useful.
     
  4. jackie46

    jackie46 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think that icon is extremely annoying. You cannot disable it from the feature list or WHM so if you dont setup the ability for users to use it your stuck with this STATISTICS icon on their CP with red x's thoughout the page saying the Admin has not configured the software. So we were forced to turn it on. :rolleyes:
     
  5. Coffeymate

    Coffeymate Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Atlanta
    I totally agree with Jackie. In fact our clients would agree. It causes us support time to explain to them it is not enabled yet we have no real answer for them as to why it is even there. "Well the programmers... uh... plan to make it work.... someday?" What do you tell them without making yourself or the Cpanel programmers look unprofessional for placing a "broken link" in Cpanel?

    Speaking of "broken links" - Support Request link in Cpanel should be optionally turned off since it doesn't work either. If it doesn't work - let us disable the ding dang link altogether inside WHM until the programmers get it to work. Shoot! Don't put in new features until the ones you have work correctly!

    Here we go to the extra trouble of purchasing XController from Netenberg because we care about appearances.

    Despite these little annoyances, we wouldn't trade Cpanel for any other program out there. Everyone loves it even with the occasional "DOH!" :eek: :p
     
  6. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Interesting.
    I am getting a good Submit Support Request link and that feature works. And I get no broken, or any other kind of link for the stats report generator selection in any of our cPanels.

    This latter item is what we really need, and I find it pretty strange that WHM has an option to turn this on, but this option (to select stats) never appears in anyone's cPanel.
     
  7. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    This is rediculous.

    We enabled the ability for user's to enable/disable their own stats software selection, but the user has no way to actually do it?

    This broken cpanel "feature" is nothing less then absolute stupidity.

    :mad:
     
  8. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Yeah, for the most part true, BUT these prolonged cPanel goofs that go unsolved for months and months do have us curious about competing GUIs.

    "Why can't I turn on/off my stats like I used to?!?!" is hitting us daily at this point, makes us look incompetent at least in a minor way, like we are not in control of the situation and are having to just sit here and come up with excuses,,,,, which in this case is entirely true.
     
  9. spiff06

    spiff06 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm trying to exclude a specific RSS file from being taken into account in Urchin stats for a single domain. I don't think there's a GUI for that, so where's the configuration file located? If I manage to configure it properly, will it be overwritten by cPanel updates?

    Thanks.
     
  10. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Still no joy - WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.8.1-R30

    Just updated to WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.8.1-R30 and this gaff continues.

    Anyone have any ideas about how to regain this capability?
     
  11. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I replied with an edit fix for this issue for the Bluelagoon only.

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showpost.php?p=223062&postcount=10

    Use the same technique if it is missing in other cPanel themes.
    :)
     
  12. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Indeed.

    Please don't cross-post.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page